Xi'an - With pictures!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
December 30th 2008
Published: January 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Don't know what this was Don't know what this was Don't know what this was

but it was pretty

It’s pronounced “she an” with a lightly pronounced n, but don’t ask me where the accent or tone goes…



Day one
Anyway, Xi'an is wonderful. With a history that dates back 1000 years B.C., it looks just like what I always imagined China to look like. It is a walled city with pagoda-like roofs on larger buildings and smaller buildings have curved roofs. In Korea, the ornate colorful architecture and traditional style buildings are reserved for temples, palaces, and other special places, but here in Xi’an, this is the look on shopping malls, hotels, and other ordinary buildings. It gives the city a wonderfully splendid, exotic feel. You could take pictures here all day, because at every turn there is something interesting to see. The prosperity that tourism has brought to this town shows in the opulent department stores down the main streets and in the fact that the town is tearing down the old shabby buildings and putting up new buildings in the old traditional style. After the Terracotta Warriors tour, I just wandered around the town for a few hours and enjoyed the sights.

Day two
The next day, I walked down to the city’s South Gate and rented a bike to take and 90-minute ride around the city walls. This has been highlight of my trip so far. The wall is up high so you can get a great view of the city as you go around. Every few feet I wanted to stop and take a picture. The bike ride was especially fun because it was easy, so I could relax and just enjoy the sights.

After the bike ride I decided that I should use my time wisely like a good tourist and see the Big Goose Pagoda. I really wasn’t interested, but I was told it was must-see, so I went. I was walking around and looking at this big pagoda when I felt the weight in my pocket lighten. My camera was gone and no one was around me when I turned around. My day’s pictures of the bike ride and of Xi’an were gone. Aaaaaaaaaa#*&#!@^&%!!!!! I felt angry, violated, and a little lost. Suddenly, I didn’t know how to go about being a tourist. It felt like China went dark for a while with no way to preserve what I’m seeing, but suddenly my eyes opened and I realized
In the hostel...In the hostel...In the hostel...

the hostel staff were making jokes about my cheap-o film camera and one of the girls snapped a shot of me.
that maybe I should just experience China; not just photograph it to look at later. I sooooooo miss my camera, but now I’m taking it all in a little more and I’m glad I don’t have to worry about it getting stolen anymore. I bought a cheap $14 film camera the next day, which will hold me over until I get back to Korea. Still, I wish my camera thief gets his/her due. I’ve imagined a lot of really awful situations for this person, but in the end, I’ve spent way too much money to get here to let it totally ruin my trip.
…Pictures not bad for a cheap film camera.

Day three
On my last day in Xi’an, the hostel staff told me of a department store where I could get my camera. I kept asking (miming) where I could find a camera and the sales people kept pointing me in a different direction or floor. I finally figured out they were just sending me away from their departments because they didn’t know or didn’t know how to tell me where to go. I didn’t find my camera, but I did find Christmas gifts for my family. It was a real store for Chinese; not a souvenir stand, so the prices were right and the products were what Chinese folks would buy. I LOVED Trustmart!

After throwing all my shopping booty in my room, I went out for a last look at the sights of Xi’an. I found a place to buy my camera and took as many pictures as possible, regretting the lost pictures in my stolen camera. I saw the drum tower and bell towers, which were part of the old city. I wandered through the Muslim quarter, which was interesting. In the center is the largest mosque in China built in 742 AD. I looked for the Mosque but never found it and instead got happily lost in the back alleys and streets of this fascinating area.

While I would have been happy to skip the Big Goose Pagoda and the pickpocket, I loved Xi’an. I wish I had more time there. What a great city.

Now off to Beijing…





There are a bunch of photos waaaaaay down at the bottom of the page. Scroll down to the bottom of this page or double-click on the
Chinese toiletsChinese toiletsChinese toilets

You rarely see these in Seoul any more
pictures to see more photos connected with this blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Behind the facade for touristsBehind the facade for tourists
Behind the facade for tourists

but this is changing
From the Drum towerFrom the Drum tower
From the Drum tower

I was trying to take a picture of the red door. It makes the old buildings look so powerful.
Xi'anXi'an
Xi'an

This is a shopping center... my hostel is nestled in on the side.


2nd January 2009

xian report
At least it wasn't your wallet! So sorry about the camera, but good call on the reaction--I take pictures in my mind all the time, and they seem to be more permanent than the others, the "real" ones. Enjoying the trip with you... love Kathi And Happy New Year!
25th January 2009

I wasn't carrying a wallet and all my ID and any money with me were strapped to me inside my pants. The camera I had to have access to so I could take pictures. Next time, it hangs around my neck with an alarm.
24th February 2009

I can relate to your story. Oddly enough I was walking down the same street as you on my way to the Big Goose Pagoda when my camera was stolen from my pocket. I took a pic about 1 minute before and stashed it in my pocket... not thinking. Over 300 pics from all over china were gone. Luckily i was with others who took some of the same pics. All i can say is this guy/group have some bad karma headed their way
3rd March 2009

Thanks for the thoughts
Fortunately, I had been uploading all my pics every day, so I only lost a day's worth of pictures, but it was a really good day! So sorry you lost so many photos. Personally, I think the Big Goose Pagoda should just be taken off the tourist sights list all together.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb