Last Day on Train


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
November 17th 2008
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well today is the last day on the train, We had afew hours last night crossing the border and changing the trains wheels (Russia has smaller tracks than China, this also had to be done at the other end in Belarus...China uses same as Europe) But the border crossing was better as they gave us vouchers for a free breakfast and lunch in the dining car...also everyone was very happy to be at China and finally out of Mongolia/Russia.

Passing though China We got a glimpse of the Great wall and saw some nice scenery a lot of the railway is new and looks beautifully engineered there are also a lot of new roads and factories which all look very nice as they are new and fresh looking.

Once I got to Beijing I went to my hotel and had a shower, maybe the best in my life…6 days without one is quite bad.
I then took a walk around the area that My hotel is, it is very close to the main train station and its about 45mins walk from the forbidden city. While walking around I realized this is the first country I have been to where
ChinaChinaChina

There was atleast 3 Large coal Power Stations between mongolia and Beijing
I am a foreigner…I have never had so many people look at me, as I have here. Blonde hair, blue eyes and my height is not very common in china.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

HillsHills
Hills

Some hills on the route to Beijing
BridgeBridge
Bridge

There are many nice new bridges being build along the route
WallWall
Wall

This is the first Glimpse of the Wall from the train
ChinaChina
China

Typical Views for China
Entering ChinaEntering China
Entering China

At the chinese border there is a place you can get out and go to a shop, all the chinese were very excited and bought lots of strange things like chickens feet to eat which were tasty but alittle stange.
Chinese GirlsChinese Girls
Chinese Girls

This is a picture of 6 of the 8 Chinese Girls from the train...I have their addresses and will post them the pictures that I have taken, none of them have the internet!


21st November 2008

Outa Mongolia
At least you got outa Mongolia!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb