Getting settled in Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
February 4th 2008
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Newton to Beijing

We flew over the polar ice cap. The trip took 13 hours.

with my host family with my host family with my host family

at the Olympic Complex
Dear Memorial-Spaulding Community,

Ni hou from Beijing! I want you all to know I am safe and sound here. The weather is cold and crisp, and though we see news of big storms elsewhere in China (it looks just like any week in December in Boston) there is no snow here. The air is clear and sunny with no sign of air pollution. My host family is very good to me. I have my own room and bathroom. The father is Dai Guijiang, the mother is Chen Fengyan, and the daughter, who is 15 years old, is Dai Chenchun. The parents work in the Beijing People's Art Theater. He is the costume designer and she is in set design. (How cool is that?!) Chenchun will come to Newton on this exchange in September. They speak enough English for us to communicate very well and I am learning more Chinese every day. I have already met one of the grandmothers and a lot of their friends, and seen many amazing things. All of my group is happy and adjusting well. My husband will soon be joining us for two weeks. School begins Feb 25 so until then we will be getting
This is where I am livingThis is where I am livingThis is where I am living

My Home in Beijing
our feet on the ground, traveling and sight-seeing.

Zai Jian from Beijing!

Mrs. H.





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My Host FamilyMy Host Family
My Host Family

In front of the Beijing People's Art Theater
The Jingshan SchoolThe Jingshan School
The Jingshan School

I will be an English teacher at this big school
Five teachersFive teachers
Five teachers

at the Jingshan School
Making jiao ziMaking jiao zi
Making jiao zi

with the grandmother, Weng Shu Fen--yum yum!


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb