The Great Wall


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
September 11th 2005
Published: September 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Had a good and soft weekend. On friday I went out for dinner with some guys and returned home around 23. Turns out I have a new roommate. Her name is Kiyoto and she is from Japan. She is very nice but hardly speaks any english. But the good thing is that she speaks chinese so she can help me with that a bit. Which I certainly need!

Early saturday morning we went to the great wall with WLE. Didn't have much time there and it was a bit cloudy but it was still an amazing experience. The bus ride took two hours so we returned half three and by then I was quite hungry since I hadn't eaten anything for the whole day. Had my first meal at five with Dan at our regular place which is a dumpling restaurant but we ordered way too much food. So I took the opportunity to practice my chinese by asking for a doggy bag just to see if they would understand. They did so we got three big boxes of food we didn't want. Ended up giving it to some homeless people.

Then we went to my place and talked to Kiyoto, Dan speaks japanese so he could translate which was good. Then the three of us went to his place and watched fotball (man u - man city) and came home after they had locked the door. Luckily the woman opened the door but she was not happy. Guess I have to sleep away next time I stay out late.

Learned some more japanese so now it consists of the phrases:
"here but not longer"
"the sound of an arrow"
"why is there a monkey sitting on your head"
"your kungfu is strong, but mine appears to be stronger"

very important things to know...

Today we met our language partners. Mine is called Haidi and lives in germany since three years. She speaks good english and seems very nice but unfortunately she is returning to gemany in a month.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb