The Imperial Sun Sets


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 24th 2007
Published: July 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Beijing. Polluted. Forbidden City. Crowded. Great Wall. Breathtaking. Blah, blah, blah. I don't have it in me to go on and on about what I saw and experienced in Beijing or what Steve-o and I did or didn't do til 9 in the morning outside a 7-11. I just have to say that as I sit here at home in the US, all I can think about is getting back to China. I've never been to a place that is so addictive, that evokes such passion from its visitors, that fosters such a deep love-hate relationship as this Sleeping Giant of the East. You know you're in a special place when you sit down to dinner with 3 expats who have been in China for 4 years and conversation never tires of how interesting it is to be there, for better or for worse. When you can go on and on about China's relevance and place in the 21st century, debating whether or not the craziness you see around you is rooted in ancient themes or a function of communist dogma, or why they grow up believing people are starving in England, it's impossible not to be completely enthralled in every aspect of life in China.

On top of all this, it's place where foreigners are total rockstars and therefore one of the most fun places I've ever been. Everywhere you go, you're the most interesting person there and everyone wants to be your friend, if only for a minute. It's for all these reasons that I've come to the conclusion that USC can wait and will still be there next year. Being allowed to defer Business School for one year to move to China and engross myself in this culture just seemed like an opportunity I couldn't let pass me by. They say travel changes you and you find out things about yourself that you never realized. While I had been disappointed to not be having life-altering experiences throughout the blissful peace and fun times of Australia & Southeast Asia, I was wholly unprepared for the magnitude of the effect China would have on my psyche. It may be a mistake to set aside the real world for another year, but it's a risk I am willing to take for the experience of a lifetime. For anyone adventurous enough, come visit me in Shanghai next year and experience the ridiculousness of this country for yourself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



29th July 2007

Incredible. Can and can't believe it and so happy for you. This will be amazing and the perfect time to do it. The "real world" can wait. Good for you, buddy! Come have a drink on my roof deck before you head back out. (And by "drink" I mean scorpion bowl and by "a" I mean many.)
30th July 2007

a year in china...i can't wait to hear all about it! congratulations on your ability to embrace such a life-altering opportunity. (as your travels have come to an end, i can't help but be a little sad that i will no longer receive your blog. it has been exciting/entertaining/inspirational to be able to enjoy your experiences with you!)

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb