Final week in Beijing!!! - July 16-20, 2012


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » XiCheng District
July 18th 2012
Published: July 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Roosters feeding from a pond of garbageRoosters feeding from a pond of garbageRoosters feeding from a pond of garbage

just a regular day walking to work
And so my final week in Beijing began on Monday, July 16th. I spent the day working on a presentation I was asked to do about projects I’ve worked on at school. That evening, the Zach’s and the Portlanders were down for one last (for me, anyways) trivia night at The Bookworm. We got there early to secure some front row seats and it was great fun! We did really well though still didn’t make the top 3. Oh well, we had fun. Though I had to push myself from the table when the others started getting obnoxiously American. The sassy British host guy sassed them good which was great.



The boys decided they wanted to stick around but I was tired so Shavaun and I headed home. I’ve had many cab experiences in Beijing, and MANY cab experiences from Sanlitun back to the Long Xuan hotel (aka the most impossible place to find ever in Beijing, apparently). Anyways, as usual, I was giving the cab driver instructions cause he looked lost but this one just couldn’t take it. How dare a white person know the way better than him! He actually kicked us out of the cab. But he didn’t charge so we got a free cab ride for a short bit of the way home. Anyways, it worked out fine, cause the next driver was incredibly kind, asked for my help, and got us home safe and sound for a lower price since it was a shorter ride! I honestly don’t see why so many cab drivers in BJ have to be such dick-faces. I appreciate that many of the white people they pick up in Sanlitun are probably obnoxious drunk tourists/ex-pats, but some of us are just trying to help you not get lost. And, like it or not, some of us know our way around Beijing better than you!! DEAL WITH IT!!



Tuesday morning I was actually given actual work to do which was shocking. It’s not the most exciting work – drawing polygons around villages on an AutoCAD map of Hai Ning. But it’s actual work and I feel like a real CAUPD employee! Too bad it comes in my last week of work…



Tuesday evening, Liz, Fernanda, the Portlanders and I went to have a true Beijing experience – we got Peking Duck! We went to a pretty fancy place that seems to have won every award possible. It was SO GOOD. Da Dong was the place, in case anyone’s interested in where to get good Peking duck! Apparently they make it healthier (less greasy) than other places. Was still succulent though!



Wednesday morning I was working hard on my presentation as I was asked to present that day. I also still had AutoCAD stuff to finish. Shocking - I worked hard all day. Not a moment of boredom. FINALLY! I presented at 4pm and I think I did a good job though I may have been a bit controversial at times by proposing that Beijing consider adoping cordon pricing (paying to enter a city by car) instead of limiting driving to certain days. It is still a communist country, I guess. Despite the rampant capitalism.



Fernanda and I had planned to visit an art district in Beijing but my presentation ran late and she was feeling tired so instead I spent the evening relaxing, updating this blog (you're welcome), and PACKING!! My second last night at the Long Xuna (*tear) was upon me!



Thursday I spent the day at work finishing up my AutoCAD assignment and also preparing a final presentation which I was asked to give for my final day of work. After work, Zach 1, Jeff and I were invited to a celebratory dinner in honour of (1) some weddings that happened last year, (2) some promotions around CAUPD and (3) my and Jeff's departure from CAUPD. We went to a restaurant with food from the Hunnan province. It was all pretty damn spicy. We also had copious amounts of Chinese wine and there was a constant stream of toasting and GAN BEI! We were in a giant room with 4 tables so it was pretty hectic and crazy but really fun. Plus it was nice having Jeff and Zach there so I had people to talk to and laugh with. Anyways, the "big boss" got really drunk and pestulant and he kept making really strange comments. He also tried to set Jeff up with a waitress. Also also the waitresses sang for us! It was so cool! And with all the alcohol flowing, Zach and I were the only people without bright red faces.



After dinner, I came home and did some last-minute packing and laundry. Then I grabbed whoever would come along (turns out only Zach 1 and Shavaun) and went to Dao, a nightclub in our area. I wanted to celebrate my last night in Beijing! Turns out cameras are not allowed in Dao, which I learned the hard way when they confiscated my camera for taking a picture of the "no soliciting or whoring prositutes" sign. But we had a great night of drinking (since drinks were free for ladies...sorry Zach) and dancing and people-watching. We made friends with a kid celebrating his 18th birthday who also did a backflip on the dance floor! So funny.



Friday was my last day! And it was a busy day! I lugged my suitcase full of stuff I wasn't taking with me across China to work in the morning to store at CAUPD. We probably could store at the Long Xuan hotel but...the workers there don't speak English so it just seemed easier to leave it at work where we know it'll be cared for. I then madly got to work to finish up my presentation since I'd been really busy all week and had ambitiously decided to present about a completely new topic rather than recycle an old topic. My supervisor took me and the group out for hot pot lunch which was reeeeally good (but kind of time consuming?! oh well!) I've had hot pot twice before but this was the best!



At 2:30, Fernanda, Liz and I presented to a room basically of fellow interns - both American and Chinese. Technically anyone at CAUPD could attend but it seems the interns were the only ones not too busy! Haha. Anyways it went really well and I think all the presentations were really interesting. After the presentations, I cleaned up my cubicle, said my goodbyes, and headed out of CAUPD! It was a great two months and I'm really, really grateful for the experience. I've learned SO MUCH.



Friday evening was a big rush of buying some last-minute supplies, doing the final touches on packing and having a blow-out sale of random stuff I wasn't taking with me from Beijing. Us interns all bonded for one last time and I bemoaned the fact that none of them showed up until I was just about to leave!!! I had envisioned there being all these interns and us having good times but basically it was us USC interns plus Liz for the majority of the time. Boo on schools with quarter systems - they're dumb and confusing and they prevented cool people from getting to Beijing sooner!!



Anyways, my time in Beijing came to an end when we reached Beijing West railway station - but that's a story for the next blog! The adventure is about to begin, folks!



-Dafne



PS BJ I MISS YOU!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

The bus inspired our team nameThe bus inspired our team name
The bus inspired our team name

greatest url ever, well-done beijing
Sassy host guySassy host guy
Sassy host guy

I never did learn his name...
PLEASE ATTENTIONPLEASE ATTENTION
PLEASE ATTENTION

that hot white girl is robbing you, man


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb