Classes Registration


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Wudaokou
September 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BLCU Main BldgBLCU Main BldgBLCU Main Bldg

East Gate of BLCU gate , the busy entrance is the he Southern Gate.
This is the first day of registration. I went to BLCU ( Beijing Language and Culture University ) early. The table was set up and only a few students there. However the girl told me I need a temp. residence permit from the police department before I can register. I said I do not need one I am a legal citizen of Hong Kong, same as China. She refused to stamp ok on my application. I spent two hours back and forth, they all told me I do not need one. When I got back two or three hours later, there was a long line. Different girls on the table and give me no problem. Then wait for two hours to pay the tuition, because too many pay in foreign currency need to be conversed in rmb. This take a long time. Placement test is on Thu. And result on Mon. Classes start on Tue. What a rip off, 12 weeks classes only ten weeks after figure in the 9 days national day holiday. On the plus side is more time to check out Beijing. 9 days plus week end is 11 days, good to take a trip. However, it is
Wudaokou ExitWudaokou ExitWudaokou Exit

五路口 subway exit is a ten min. walk to the southern gate of BLCU
big holiday here, every thing is booked. All the Beijinger will be out of town, and all the out of towner will be in Beijing. If I got trap in Beijing, I will have time to check out every inch of Beijing. Even now the local Chinese tour groups are out number the foreign one. I did not run into any American tour group yet.

There are students all over the world and all age group. At least a few hundreds if not over thousand for the 12 weeks section. There a few guys look older than me. The instructor said I look like in my 40’s and ask me how old am I.

The biggest group is the Japanese and Korean group, next is US and UK and Southeast Asia. There are many Chinese in the second group. I think they may be foreign born Chinese; most of them are in level A or B. There are total of six levels from A-F, A is the beginner and F is the highest advanced level.

I took the placement test today. The test also according to your application of what level they think. I put down I
Wudaoku areaWudaoku areaWudaoku area

south of the aubway, very high density housing and expansive
know 1000 words which I has no idea how many I know. This how much you need to read a newspaper which I have no problem. So they put me into the immediate to advanced level test. Not even one single word in other language in the instructions. The examine is very comprehensive also; there are multiple choice, fill in, comprehension, writing exercise and oral conversation. They make sure to place you in a correct level. There are foreigners in this level test also, they can speaks better than me. The instructor said he will put me in level E; see what happen on Mon. final results. I have problem writing because I did not write for a long time.

They all said the Hong Kong people speaks very bad Mandarin, I hope I will not be in that group after the 12 weeks class.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bldg. 3Bldg. 3
Bldg. 3

school of intensive Chinese study
Bldg. 3Bldg. 3
Bldg. 3

Waiting to pay tuition, two hours wait
Ball FieldBall Field
Ball Field

may be practice for the national day
Eating PlacesEating Places
Eating Places

Eating places at the east side of BLCU
Tsinghua UniversityTsinghua University
Tsinghua University

one of the Beijing top university in the university district
Office 1Office 1
Office 1

High tech area in the university district


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb