Part Three - Ala Turka Does ChopStiX


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
September 14th 2006
Published: September 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

“Ala Turka Does ChopStiX”
Part Three

If you asked me a year ago, “do you want to go to China?” I would have way passed that question. China was the last place I would have chosen to come for a holiday let alone living here - that was then, this is now. China in nutshell is the centre for history, culture and shopping. The place where no one has a clue, yet it’s on its verge of a booming economy.
Here, the detailed story of what has happened about my own experiences.

Just a short snippet summary of what’s happened since I last began my journey with you:

• Chinese Lessons - being taught by a Chinese professor

Yes, I began my experience of becoming a china doll. Learning the language and using sign language in between. It still hasn’t hit me that I’m here. Like seriously. Everywhere we go out with work colleagues, we say “are we really here?” I don’t know if it’s the writing and people around us, but it doesn’t feel like we are actually in china. Bizarre! This is one reason which is why I want to learn the language. To be able to engage and absorb what the country is talking about. People are speaking in Chinese to me and I’m speaking in English with them… Try explaining where the toilet is? Lol and talk about what food is what? Lol

I’ve been motivated to live and learn.

• Clubbing in Beijing - Disco/Techno/Pub

There are too many things I could write about, but certain things caught my eye. On the dance floor of this place we went to, there’s a pole on the dance floor, of course I made use of that. Karaoke Bar - dance clubs - again, like a restaurant cabaret style people sit and watch the performances - jenny and I got on the stage and started taking over… as you do!

Meeting the locals and talking with them is great - I’m detouring where the tourists hang out, because wherever they seem to be, the prices are sky high for drinks and it’s just not the local atmosphere. There seems to be lanterns everywhere in china - which makes it soo much more of a cultural experience when you’re leaving one bar and going to another.

More clubbing stories I could share with you on my one on one email if you ask me. A lot of detail I wouldn’t get into here.

• Public Toilet vs. Exhibitionism

OK, this is something I HAVE TO TELL YOU. I haven’t experienced or anyone talk to me about Chinese toilets, so hopefully I’m the first to tell you this.
While out with Jenny on Friday night and her friend, we decided to take the scenic route of Beijing, and did we see the non city life. Like a village in the heart of the city, streets of people selling food on hot pans (hotpots) baked potatoes and other weird stuff, lanterns hanging, we decided to sit around at some local and have a beer on the street. After the drinks we decided to go to the public toilets. Jenny went in one and I went into the other. Upon entrance, I saw 3 cubicles for peeing - the standing ones, and 3 for sitting. The sitting ones don’t have doors on them. I mean, you’re meant to squat and shit while chatting to the guy next to you. No doors no barriers, so it’s all in your face! Unbelievably, I left that peeing station thinking, that doesn’t really happen does it????? So I waited for jenny to get out and HAD to ask her if the girl’s ones were the same. YES they were, and even weirder, she explained how she had a conversation with this lady while sitting back. LoL! I’m still trying to get over it…

• Happy Teachers Day!

Sunday was Teachers day in China. It couldn’t be a better day to seriously feel so special. I got about 50 sms’s wishing me happy teachers day, adorable! … At home (in Australia) I don’t get 50 sms’s for my birthday! So it’s a special day for these kids. They gave me presents and flowers. I was also invited to attend this party the kids organized and one of my favourite students (Stone) said he has been practicing all day and wanted me to go. So I told some of my other colleagues to come with me because they hadn’t got any invites from anyone - don’t know why?

So after shopping and dinner, we were on our way by taxi to the room they told us to meet them. As we got out of the cab, there were Stone and his classmate waiting for us at the door downstairs. One of them ran in as soon as we got out of the cab. At this stage Glen and Maxine were with me (pictures below). Dressed like absolute hookers, I with my thongs, ripped jeans and t-shirt and shopping bags, we followed Stone to the room the “party” was at. Walked in and there were about 100 students of mine with flowers in their hands and balloons and cameras going. To top it off, they had students on either side and across the stage have seats for us. I thought we were at a national gallery opening. Maxine, Glen and I were like OMG - we aren’t dressed appropriately - talk about embarrassment…

They had organized a few hours of shows for us. Dance, singing, poems and the whole excitement of getting me up for a dance, apparently its tradition that a teacher dances for 15 minutes on stage to show that he appreciates what the students have done. So I danced to Britney spears and some waltzing piece with Jenny that came in and we gave her the standing ovation - mind you I just told her to be in Room 307 - imagine the shock she got. I was touched by them organizing such an event - and they really do know how to make someone happy and show that they appreciate what we do. Bless.




bad shot of Maxine (Scotland) Bad shot of Glen (Melbourne)


• Students - from 250 to 300

In my last email, which I think I mentioned, that China, as a whole has no idea about organisational skills - everything is either done last minute OR you’ll find out a day before. Believe me; I know what patience is now…LOL. I got myself prepared before I landed here.

My timetables for classes I take have changed 3 times in 2 weeks. Mind you, I received all of them the night before, and been told stuff in the morning in terms of changes to the timetable. I have now officially got over 300 students. This makes about 14 classes a week. I heard something today actually the more popular we new teachers are getting, its making the old teachers HATE us.. Apparently they see us young guys as a competition popularity contest… I never thought it would be possible, but these old farts from abroad hate us, Hashanah! Because we actually enjoy what were doing and the students enjoy our classes more than theirs.

• Tour with Allen to Tiananmen Square & Wanfujing Shopping Mall

Allen, one of my really good students decided to write up an itinerary for me and take me out to a tour of Beijing. I asked Natasha to come with us as well as one of Allen’s flat mates. The guy is such a walking notebook. On the ball and knew exactly what was going to happen the next hour. Had everything preplanned for us! Natasha and I felt like students next to him…lol - I’ve got pictures of us going to Tiananmen Square and the local shops we went to. Pictures coming soon!!!


• Internet connection and China

If I’m not on msn or don’t email for a week, means the computers are down… I didn’t have internet access for 4 days - drove me insane but this is China. Apologies.




• Final Words…

In summation, I’m enjoying my time here so far. To the point where its nearly been a month I have been here - at times I feel like I have been here for years, and at times I feel like I haven’t been here at all and want to stay and experience more and more every day, like I have got soo much more to learn and do!

I would definitely like you to try and do something like this - live and work somewhere to get a better understanding on other peoples culture. China is a must… Cause If I hadn’t done this- I would have never thought of coming here. What a memory!

Thank you for reading my blog, loving you all. Ali




Advertisement



15th September 2006

good to hear your well and having fun
hey ali Mikey here just read your blogg and sounds like you arte having alot of fun and that thigns are goiung well for you Love and hugs Mikey
16th September 2006

Thanks mikey
hey micky! GREAT to hear from you! I'm enjoying every day so far. It's a different experience which can't be described as well as I write it. You just have to be here to really understand how it is. The stories I write in my blog, like the dog food, happen, and its all normal to these people. The whole experience is great - the worst thing is, I havent thought about melbourne yet cause of all the things which have happend so far - and work keeps you on your toes... although i miss my friends dearly (as you do!)..
17th September 2006

xxoo
Youre amazing babe, to have the time to write all this! Thx for your nice comment about me hehe:) Tell us about your day at Happy Valley! Muah luv gracie xxoo

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb