...and other adventures


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
September 18th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

..You know I had to get my jollies for camera equipment, right?

Anyway, after I came back from the wall, I decided to check out this camera fair that a dude on Rangefinder told me about. It was located on Malian Dao Road 11, on the last floor of a huge mall that seemed to only specialize in Tea. It took me about 1/2 hr to find it, but when I did, I was in Camera store heaven!

Like in HK, the prices for (new) gear are either the same price as Canada or more expensive. Very slick, though. I wasn't so much looking for new gear, but for old vintage stuff. There were only two stores with vintage goodies for me to drool over - but they were both closed - (as in dead bolted). There was a cornocopia of camera crap that no one else would want except gear whores like myself. No wonder it was closed.

I didn't spend very long there - I decided to go to the Gate of Heavenly Peace and check out Mr. Chairman. When I got there, it was already dark, but I think it suited the scene well. There was the famous picture of Mao, looking benevolently down at his people, with a slight smile on his face. There was a multitude of Chinese families out, posing in front of the barriers that separated them from the Great Helmsman. It was kind of amusing, really - grownups dressed in their best suit looking serious, teens giving peace signs, soldiers (who were everywhere) keeping a watchful eye on the whole scene. Honestly, I've never seen so many soliders in my life, and I think the average age was about 19. I have to admit - they looked slick, though. Some of them, anyway. It looks like they were preparing for the 60th anniversary.

I decided to walk down to snack street to see the creepy crawlies on a stick that I've heard so much about. Again, it took me a while to find it but after getting directions from some helpful Brits I finally stumbled upon Donghuamen Night Snack Street.

Cockroach, baby seahorse, scorpions and chicken hearts on a stick. Very interesting, and not for the faint of heart.

Tomorrow, off to see Mao.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



19th September 2009

Beautiful night shots!
I wonder if the camera fair you went to is the same place I went to? However where I went to buy my 72mm CP filter for cheap was in a camera mall -- hundreds of stores that sold equipment.... I bet the location is still in the guidebook! Your Tianmmen Square night shots look fantastic. I only ever got there in daylight -- the night shots look so much more impressive! And please tell me you didn't actually eat any of that street meat.... :S
20th September 2009

No way, Jose!
Oh, no.. I didn't eat any of the creepy crawlies. I did eat one beef thing, though. It tasted alright, and I didn't get ill afterward.
20th September 2009

The camera mall
Actually, I went to a different camera mall, one on the top floor of a building where all they sold was tea. The polarizer was only $16 (not B+W, obviously).

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb