The Beijing Tea Scam


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
January 16th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Check Out My Site Here

As I said in my earlier blog I had gone for a wander around the Forbidden City and was about to pop across the road to Tinamen Square when some Chinese girls approached me as I was taking a picture of Mao. There was a group of 5 of them, all of whom were dressed normally (i.e. they weren't prostitutes) and could all speak almost fluent English. They just looked like a group of students on a trip. They asked me if I was English and thought it was great because it meant they could practice theirs. They were all really pleasant girls, pretty much what you'd expect of a female Chinese student, and they asked me if I would like to join them as they were walking to the old town. "Why the devil not" I thought to myself. 3 of the girls said they were waiting for another two of their friends and would catch us up so me and two of them, Jane and Vicky, went for a stroll and saw a bit of the old town while they told me a bit of history of the Forbidden City and as we were getting on so well they suggested we go for some Chinese tea. "Why the devil not" I thought to myself again, even my overly suspicious couldn't see any harm in that. As we walked along one of the girls spotted a restaurant bar which we went into. The waitress took us into a corner and put some kind of straw screen around us and took our drinks order. She then brought over the teas with loads of Chinese snacks. "Very pleasant" I thought - I was seeing the traditional Chinese way of life. So we had a few cups of tea and they were talking about going to a Karaoke bar later on, which sounded like a laugh. They were still acting completely normal other than they kept suggesting that I go to the toilet at the same time as when one of them was going so that I knew where they were. I had nothing valuable in my fleece so I obliged and joined Jane. When I came back down the other girl, Vicky, was still there, as was the fleece. I presumed I was just being paranoid and they were just being nice. Then they asked for the bill. I'm sat there thinking "No problems, I'll pay it as I've had a good time and a few Yuan will mean nothing to me". Before the bill arrived the waitress asked if any of us wanted to buy some of the 'top quality' tea, which the girls did. When the bill arrived and the girls basically expected me to pay the lot, even for the box of tea they had bought. I thought it a little presumptious but wasn't overly bothered as it was probably an extra quid on the bill. Where could the scam possibly be here? Was it because they thought they would take advantage of a rich westerner and get him to pay 5 quid for some cups of tea? I looked at the bill and it was something like 2500 Yuan - I worked it out as about 150 quid for a few cups of bloody tea!@*! Naturally, I thought I had made a mistake by misreading where the decimal point was but the waitress went through it with the girls and they assured me it was correct. Jane 'generously' offered to pay for their tea and after I was kicking up a bit of a stink with the waitress Jane also put in all the cash she had. I continued to debate the matter with the waitress at which point the guy who had also been serving us came over. I didn't want to risk getting locked in, getting done over and getting everything taken so I ended up paying about 100 quid!
Later on at the hostel I saw a notice saying "Beware of strangers offering to take you for a cup of tea". Apparently 4 other people at the hostel have been caught out, there was a public broadcast about it, and I've looked for it on the internet and there are a load of stories, all of which are similar, and some of which are identical. It is very worrying because even as I think back there wasn't anything that I think was suspicious. And as I think back there was actually 9 people involved in that scam!
This contributed to my decision to leave Asia early, which you can read about in my next blog - I'll also include pictures of the perpetrators.

Check Out My Site Here

Advertisement



16th January 2008

Something about their names
You got scammed by Jane the Plane and sickly Vickly the scammest of scammers the East has ever seen I bet both of them have dark chinese hair and eyes and speak with a chinese accent you dumb fool I told you to watch out for this two hoodlums. Anyways £100 sounds like a bargain what else could you spend £100 on these days? From more sound crap advice visit DeanoMatteomoe the Madcrappers@craptalkin'.com
18th January 2008

sucker!
Oh Matty, they got you! But help a girl out...how much is 150 quid in US dollars? I can't fully and completely feel sorry for you until I know just how bad you got ripped off.
18th January 2008

The old tea scam
On reflection I am somewhat surprised that you were fooled by the scam. How many times have Deano and I pulled the old tea scam. Remember last time Dean did it and it cost you £10k, your house and your dignity.....you must have a short memory......
12th April 2008

us too
yes we got snookered by the scam last evening in Beijing. Very nice girls said they were english teachers. Even after I knew this was a scam I couldn't believe these nice girls were part of it, so I offered to buy dinner for them tonight. I wonder if they will show up? 2nd question is what should I do if they do?
13th April 2008

tea scam
we showed up, they showed up. At first when we confronted them they tried to act as if we didn't know what we were talking about. However as time went on and we threatened to go to the police, they had us wait with one of the girls while the other went and got our money back. Since we have now learnt of this scam its absolutely amazing how many times we've been approached since, with basically the same line. Hello, how are you, where are you from, we are learning english do you mind if we walk with you. My standard answer is No thanks I've already had my tea.
13th April 2008

I got out scott free
My friend and I were wondering if these things were scams, so when he left Beijing early, i had some time to kill so I went for the tea, refused to eat the fruit (i saw a sign at 100rmb a plate), then when one girl got up to get the server i got up as well (against the wishes of the other girl) stood by the door, didn't even bother looking at the bill luckly had exact change for the tea (30rmb) stuffed it in the hands of the girl and walked out the door! As i walked out i heard the girls complaining that I wasn't paying for the 150rmb room fee. It was well worth the 30rmb. I was going to pick up a Starbucks Latte anyways so i probably saved myself a couple RMB! And i had about 5 cups of tea (they were probably going to try to charge me 30 per glass too right?)
3rd May 2008

Same girls / same trick!!!
I can't believe this blog from Matt. I got done exactly the same way BY the same GIRLS in your photo. There was one other called Lilly that is not in the photo. This was May 2008, just a few days ago near Tiananmen. My bill was 2100RMB! I freaked, refused to pay all though paid 500RMB, still $80+ for some shit tea! The girls speak very good English. I feel like reporting them to the police now that I have read this... A clever scam indeed, they were very convincing though as I can't see just very well practiced! Thanks for your post Matt.
3rd May 2008

Same scam / same girls!!
Yep, got done myself by the SAME GILRS (+ one other called Lilly) not in the photo. My bill was over 2000RMB for a few cups. I refused to pay all, the girls offered to pay their portion so I shelled out some 500RMB... They have excellent English and seemed natural. Just practiced obviously! Can't believe the same girls are photographed here!! Thx Matt!
2nd December 2008

Me too
Same happened to me dammit! I too are incredibly cautious to anyone that approaches me but this scam is unbelievably good. Even looking back, unless i was aware of this scam prior, how I could have picked up on it. Also it was the same girl on the right but with another girl
16th February 2009

Tiananmen tea scam
Damn chinas! Same shit, different day and different girls. 1636RMB was my slash. When I called my friend to tell him about my wonderful meeting he said "no! where are you?! and, are the girls still with you? im calling the police!" Hell...hopefully visa is understanding of all our fools' mistakes... I really felt like dishing out some "pain cake".
21st March 2009

I too got scammed
I got scammed only yesterday, that is 21/03/2009, but the worst part is I got taken by a guy by the name of Tony. For the past 3 days girls had been hitting on me, but I had kept my guard up, because girls can be extremely mischievous, but yesterday I let my guard down because the guy spoke very good english and he was interesting to talk to. The rest follows the same story line, nice tea house etc.... my damage was 400 Yuan. Not to0 bad considering others have lost a lot more.
26th March 2009

Be cheap!
this is why we should not be ashamed of being cheap and stingy, had the "victims" asked upfront what things cost, and said "I got no money" they couldn't pull it off.
29th April 2009

I just got scammed too
I just got scammed too. Same deal, I wish I would have known before. This girl as all friendly and seemed normal about going for tea. I had no idea, but was still even cautioud and asked the priceof everything before ordering, which is why it was strange when I got my bill for 1300rmb. I complained and argued but both the waitress and the girl both told me it was fair. I then realised that it was a scam and like Matt, I got scared that they would do something and keep me there. I'm angry though and embarrassed that I got scammed. When I left the tea house I told the girl I was not happy with what she did and she gave me 200rmb.... big wooopy!! I'm here for two more days and I know where the house is, should I call the police?
31st May 2009

Shanghai
Even in Shanghai you can get that scam. I was approach 3 times in 1 hours by nice girls. They were always with one guy. Always the same way "Can you take a picture of us", the last guy ran after me to ask (which is ridiculous). I'm so glad to have read some forums before coming here. I'ts soo bad, why Chinesse are doing such bad things ? Do you think it's cultural ?
22nd July 2009

Hey Matt! thanks so much for the heads up, today I was stopped twice by two smoking hot chinese girls at a central mall in Beijinghat wanted to practice their english!! I don't want to think at what it could have been if you hadn't written this page! I am truly sorry for you but think it as your contribution to the end of a scam!! thanks again and take care Nico
17th December 2009

I was in Beijing just last weekend and the exact same thing happened to two of my friends in the exact same part of the city! My two girl friends and I went shopping at Silk Street and my two guy friends decided to hop on the subway and then got off to look around Tiananmen Square. I got sick of shopping and so I went to go find my guy friends. Then they told me about the scam. It literally cost them all of the money they had left for the entire trip, and this all happened within twelve hours of getting off the train from Xi'an to Beijing! So any westerner, especially any English-speaking westerners, should never go to tea with random Chinese girls they've just met, ESPECIALLY around the Tiananmen Square area.
20th December 2009

I can't believe I am reading this... I am from Spain and spent the last week in Beijing.. where I got cheated by the SAME girls.. although they had different names this time... I should have found this blog before, so I could have spotted them...
26th December 2009

same story here!!!!
I think telling my story will work to dissipate my emotions. I cannnot tell how fun I have had reading these stories. I have to say I was scammed today too!!!! I had already know about this going on in Shanghai but I turned them down there... today while I was visiting Tienanmen two girls approached me, one of them was "japanese" so my scam radar was turned off. Anyway, they both lured me to a Tea House, which I thought it was OK because it was cold. After tasting 10 different teas (all very nice, won't complain about it, not about the ceremony... my hostess was quite hot by the way) they wanted to charge me 1270 RMB... are you f**** crazy? tea is not that expensive even in the US, I said. They asked me first to pay half and after that one third... I got only 85 RMB with me fortunately so I gave them to them... US$10 seemed reasonable for the fun but still, all the way to the hostel I felt so stupid and naive. After reading some stories I feel a bit better and actually laughing about it...
23rd January 2010

different people same scam
We're two girls and were approached by a girl/boy team, we got pulled into the same thing, ended up paying 1100RMB for a bunch of tea. Garry, did you have to be very forceful in getting your money back? We are going to try the same thing as you.
20th March 2010

amazing- I got taken in with exactly the same scam today. everyone- please just watch out
21st April 2010

Changed names but game the same
These con artists have changed names. One on left calls herself Summer, on right Corry. I was looking for two stores and Corry turned up practicing English. I thought maybe she can help me. Took me to stores I was looking for and others. Very helpful. Then suggested eating. Is it Ok my sister (Summer) comes. OK. 350 Yuan latter ...fine been nice . Have you had tea before. nice for stomach. How bad can it be I thought...I like tea. Oh yes you good English teacher. After several cups of tea and two glasses of wine (for them) I thought maybe 250 Yuan......and time to get .....but bill 2,500 Yuan! What the?!? Brick wall realization hits! You have been taken budy! I was mad! They played the innocent game, and stupidly I paid the bill and told them to get lost! So, do the police know about these two? O
21st April 2010

To Continue
So the question I have do the police know or are they turning a blind eye? These same two con artists (who change their names) and their friends are doing nothing to enhance apparently numerous visitors stays in Beijing.
23rd April 2010

GAH!!!!!! THIS HAPPENED TO ME TOO!!!
I wish I had gotten pictures as well of the perps.. My story is almost identical to yours.. And i HAD read about the scam and figures I'd be prepared.. BUT THEY WERE SMOOTH!!!! they talked with me so long that i sort of got comfortable with them and detected no threat.... If they would have told me we were going for 'tea' then an alarm would have been triggered.. but they never told me tea. They told me we were gonna see something around the square.. but we ended up at a tea house!!!! Anyway, i dont wanna reminisce anymore as it happened tonight and I'm still quite peeved about it.. I'm on my last 2 weeks of travel of a total of 3 months, so I've got this last 2 weeks carefully budgeted... i've been spending 30 - 40 RMB max daily.. so you can imagine my heart sank when this happened.
28th April 2010

What a Mug !
I had an interesting experience yesterday. In hindsight, it was ironic that I had spent the morning at the China Police Museum. What a lovely, cuddly bunch of Dixon of Dock Green types the police must be over here ! Anyway after the museum I was strolling through QianMen Dajie ( one of the main shopping districts, tarted up in Qing Dynasty style ) when I fell hook, line and sinker for the Beijing Tea scam. "Hello, where are you from? " asked a female voice behind me. Turinng round, I spied a smiling attractive girl in her mid 20s. " Are you here on holiday ? " Normally I politely say a few words back and move on, but before I knew it, we were chatting quite freely. Was it because she was attractive, spoke excellent English and had a friendly face ? Of course it was but after a few minutes she introduced me to her "brother" who had been shadowing us a few feet behind us. He also spoke good English and said they were from Xian but on holiday in Beijing for a week. I've been coming to China for over 10 years and have in my time done a fair bit of travelling, and so I like to think I am reasonably street wise but nothing this friendly couple said or did aroused any suspicion. We wandered down the main drag and then deftly the brother steered me down a side street and then another. I still had some time to kill before I had to be back at the flat for lunch and so spotting a tea house I said I fancied a cup of coffee and would they like to join me for some tea. By this time, I was doing their work for them. I bet they could hardly believe their luck. We went into a tea house that I thought I had chosen. It was very small but we were offered a room upstairs as there was more room there. We were ushered into a private room as it turned out with just enough space for the three of us. The waitress came over and handed a menu to the Chinese guy. I said I ust wanted a coffee but they could order whatever they wanted. I didn't even look at the menu - it didn't occur to me that the tea would cost more than a few yuan. If I gave it any thought I assumed it would certainly cost less than my coffee which I had noticed on a board outside was priced at 23 RMB ( not an unsual price in Beijing for coffee - just over 2 Pounds Sterling ) The waitress bought us a pot of tea and some dainty tea cups, including one for me even though I was having the coffee. The tea was good and a bit unusual, but despite comments from the couple praising its quality,it didn't seem anything special to my untrained taste buds ( as far as tea goes anyway ) As we sipped on tea and intermittenlty on my coffee, we chatted about this and that. I told them my wife was Chinese and we were here in Beijing with my little boy and how we had been stranded here for the past week because of the volcanic eruptions in Iceland unable to fly home. I showed some photos from my digital camera from our trip and they told me about themselves. He claimed to be some kind of IT consultant and the girl was still studying, English and Accountancy apparently. We were getting on really well and I wanted to take a photo of my new friends. I raised my camera to take a photo - " No photos please - I am a Buddhist and it is against my religion " Hmm, that's a bit odd I thought but I respected his wishes. After a while, I said I had to leave and so I caught the attention of the waitress and said " 服务员,买单" ( Waitress, I want to pay the Bill ) It was duely presented to me but at first I couldn't read the hand-written receipt. I saw the number 650 but there didn't seem to be a decimal point after the 5. I enquired further and the waitress told me the amount was 650 RMB as if this was a perfectly natural amount for a coffee and a couple of cups of tea. If you have not been to China before I cannot overstress what an outrageous amount this was. For 650 RMB you could host a banquet for 10 people in a nice restaurant and still have change. I was in shock and confused. I wasn't even sure I had that much money with me but at the same time I couldn't believe I had been such a mug. Was this teahouse just a front for fleecing foreigners, were my 2 acquaintances in on the scam. Surely not, but when I mentioned I might not have enough money my Chinese "friend" helpfully pointed out that I could probably pay my credit card. Rather then kicking up the mother of all rows though I found 700RMB in various pockets and meekly paid up. I had fallen into the typical Chinese situation of not wanting to lose face. Afterall it was me who had offered to take them for a tea not them suggesting it to me. I had even chosen the tea shop myself or had I ? In a daze, we left the tea house and Chen and Yan accompanied me to the metro. I had been well and truely done up like a kipper but I still couldn't quite believe that my 2 companions had been involved. I wasn't sure whether to tell my wife what had happened because I felt such a fool. However by the time I caught up with her later in the afternoon, the shiock had worn off and I was determined to go back to Qian Men to try to confront this swindling couple as I was sure they would be repeating the scam on some other hapless tourist. I decided to tell my wife the story and although she was initially less then impressed by my naive behaviour, she agreed to come back with me. I didn't have much of a strategy other than to find the couple, take a photo of them and threaten to report them to the Police unless they reimbursed me for the cost of the tea. I wasn't confident though that a) we would find them b) I would get my money back. After all, apart from me being stupid, had a crime even been committed or at least had a provable crime been committed. A quick call to the Police explaining the situation, confirmed that there was little we could do. I would just have to swallow my pride and put the whole incident down to experience. Even so, for want of anything better to do that afternoon, we took the metro back to Qian Men, wondering along the way if the scam was operated by some mafia type criminals who it might be dangerous to confront. At Qian Men, I scoured the crowds for signs of the dirty rotten scroundels who had tricked me. I was looking out for the distinctive baseball cap worn by the girl but not surprisingly they were no-where to be seen. We then decided to return to the scene of the crime, the most expensive Tea House in China. After a couple of false starts, I eventually found it down a rather dingy looking side street. I took a photo of the tea house from outside and as I did so the manager stepped out to see what we were doing. He had not been there earlier but the 2 waitresses on duty at the time were still there. We went in and started our complaint, not even sure what outcome we were after. We demanded to see the receipt for our bill ( I had not asked for it at the time ) and for my wife's benefit the menu, which did state quite clearly that the pot of tea we had ordered was for 450 RMB. The rest of the bill was for hire of the private room I had supposedly requested, my coffee and some non-descript nibbles they had presented with the tea. Our case seemed pretty weak though as the menu did clearly list the price for the tea at least. I knew this already because I had asked to see the menu when first presented with the bill. My wife was firm but calm, and basically said that they had cheated us and that the other couple was probably in on the scam. I added that I would hang outside their tea house for the rest of the week warning customers away and that I would go straight to the Police if I caught Chen and Yan luring anyone else to the tea house. This was an empty threat as I had no intention of doing so but then suddenly the manager completely caved in and offered to repay 43RMB of my bill ! I was almost as shocked as when I had first been presented with the bill. What do you mean he wants to pay back 430RMB, I asked my wife. That is an admission of his guilt and it was the last thing I expected to hear. I had spent more time haggling over the cost of a T-shirt at the Silk Market and now after 5 minutes the Manager was offering to pay back 430RMB just like that. We decided to take the money. Perhaps we should have argued for a full refund and we may well have got it, but at that stage I felt face had been restored and I was happy to leave. I still ended up paying 200RMB for a cup of coffee and some tea, but actually I had paid 200RMB for a lesson in how not to be a mug. I really resent that this experience has probably left me less trusting and more suspicous of people, but in the big scheme of things this one unsavourary experience does dent the overall positive impression I have of China and the Chinese people.
30th April 2010

a very fresh victim 27th April2010
...i back to hotel on my laptop and search ...tea..beijing a second link was ((Beijing Tea Scam: Avoid the Si Zhu Xiang Tea House near Forbidden ))... why im reading that now ? ... just because i just got scamed in Tiananmen in beijing ... yeah ...1500 RMB for a Tea .i hate tea now ... i paid for 2 years of tea ...hhaa .....may be should type in google next time ..((what could happend to me after i leave my hotel ? ... the nice things that the girls did so hard to find me a taxi and send me back to hotel ...
4th June 2010

UH!!!!
This just happened to us today.
14th July 2010

your activity is not right while you put the pictures beside
hi,friend,i think is not nice to put the picture beside what's you are said. They are younger,they don't know what are they doing ,give them a chance ,you will get more benefit from forgive people.
1st August 2010

Im a sucka too
Similar thing happened to me today. Was in Tienanmen Sq around 11am, a girl approached me asking to "hang out" cause she so rarely gets to speak English, her being from a small southern city in China and here on vacation. I obliged because I was obviously blind and couldn't see any trouble in that. We walked Tienanmen for about 15 minutes and she helped me take pics of my trip. As I was on my way to The Forbidden City we could see that it was packed at the south entrance so she suggested that we take the east entrance. While walking to the east she mentioned that she was "tired" and would like to sit and have a drink while we exchange email addresses. Once again I saw no harm in this. We passed a couple little places to drink until we came to a place that she pointed out as serving coffee, tea and beer. We entered, they sat us down in a private room where we would have a traditional Chinese tea tasting, or something like that. I had already been to one of these earlier on a tour, however she said she hadn't and insisted we try it. Anyways, we had sampled about 9 different teas and I finally said I had to go, we had spent the good part of an hour in this room and it was time to go. The bill came and it was a whopping 1200 Yuan!! For 18 tea samples!!! Samples!! Apparently it was 50 yuan a normal sample and 100 for their special samples. I converted this to Canadian and realized they were charging me around $200 for tea sampling. I made a fuss, and at one point realized this must have been a scam but didn't act on it. I was in a corner and had little cash on me so I had to throw my credit card down (This is another worry, I would cancel it but still need it for the rest of my trip). She offered to pay the little she had, but being from a "small southern China town" I didn't want to bankrupt the girl while she was here. The rest of the day I ran it over and over through my head, wondering if she was really part of the scam. I came to know that she was when I was leaving The Forbidden City and had a couple approach me with a similar story (young couple from a southern China town looking to speak English with someone). I spoke to them for about 10 minutes on the way out of The City, then they asked what I was doing. More skeptical by this time, I told them I was headed back to my hotel for a little bit to eat. They suggested I join them for a drink, "Maybe tea" one of them said. "No, thanks!", I replied. But "You dirty bastards" was what I was thinking. They left, and I watched as they entered the gates to go back in. Not once, not twice, but thrice. On my way to the subway station at Tienanmen East I was approached again, this time by two lovely ladies with the same story and a similar idea of where I should be taking them. This time I was not so friendly and asked them if they were part of a scam. I couldn't get to belligerent on the Beijing sidewalks but I made it known to them that I thought they were doing something filthy with themselves and left for the subway. Hopefully other travelers can read these blogs and not lose out on a couple hundred bucks and a cheerful smile. Matt
17th August 2010

another victim...
nice to read your post, yesterdays, i have been victim of the same fraud...althrought, noy the scam seem to be lot more evil...in fact the beginning of the storry is the same, but at the point where they bring the bill...i refuse to pay, and i conplaint for quite a while very loudely...i was with 3 girl at this point...and suddently 2 boy came in (so they where 5 now) and the girl took out a knife, they threighten me whit, so i gave everithing i have on me, 550 yuan, by luck i didn't have my credit card and at some point another foreigner (victim like me, get out of the piece just side of the one i was in, so we fleed together) the more stunning point to me is are mush there is victim, and nobody do nothing about it !!!
15th October 2010

feel so dumb!
I arrived in Beijing a few hours ago and headed off to Tian'anmen square area to just explore a little... I can pretty much copy and paste your story!
8th December 2010

same girls, same things, 200 euros less.. fuck
8th December 2010

same shit
18th January 2011

Warned by still suck in
I was so pissed off, because I asked how much every thing would cost, and even told the two girls we were aware of the 'Tea Scam' so were being cautious and apologised if I seemed rude. I gave one of the girls my card and posed for a photo (trophy) for them, even invited one girl to see us in NZ if she visited. Meanwhile... while I was making kind offers (trusting sucker Kiwis), my husband was out of the little tea room paying the bill. He was too scared to tell me we had been scammed until we got further down the road. I was so F@#King furious and wanted to go back and give them a piece of my mind. He just shrugged it off and moved me on, which made for a tense next hour with us. We had to pay $100 NZ dollars which is not nearly as bad as others. With our tea the girls ordered some food which we didn't agree to pay for, but we were happy to pay for their tea. The food consisted of some chip like thingy (ate a couple) and grapes (we didn't eat any as not cooked food). They got us on the room hire which we didn't know about?? But like others have said, we thought the exchange of culture was fun and worth paying for some expensive tea. I thought it would be about 30RBM each for our tea so you can imagine my surprise at being asked to pay, not slightly more than a cup of coffee, but the price of a really good dinner with a some wine, at a restaurant at home. I am still seething over this, but does make for an interesting story! It did affect how I felt about our trip, but generally our experience was positive and I felt very safe with the obvious military presence. I hated being approached at least 100 times in Shanghai to buy a watch. I learned to say... "got one" which worked pretty well. Ignored response "same but different". You have to laugh!
26th January 2011

Scam? not sure!
I was walking wangfujing area and two friendly ladies approach from behind asking if I speak English...I nodded and the conversation starts. We walked together and introduce themselves as visitors from Shandong province. After a couple of introductions, I asked them where were they going at that time and they said that they wanted to check some bar in the area and invited me. I was reluctant at first because I only wanted to see the area and not have a drink with two total strangers which oddly enough invites a guy and drinks with them. The older lady was even so kind to asked me what was my purpose at wangfujing and even let me do my shopping at the Nike Store in the area while they went to a nearby bookstore and even give her number and asked me to call her once I finished my shopping. To make the story short we met after 20 minutes and went to a Karaoke bar at the second floor of a small shop in front of the food stalls and I ordered coffee, the older lady ordered tea, the younger lady ordered juice...we sang and danced and ordered beers. After 3 hours the bill came out and it was 1170 RMB. I took out 400RMB and they asked me if I have credit card and I said no. So we ended up splitting the tab 3ways. We went out on separate ways and as I was waiting for a taxi, the younger Chinese called out from a taxi and I joined her in the cab and as it turned out we live almost at the same area. She gave me her number and I invited her for a lunch the following day and I said I wanted to see the Confucius Temple after lunch and she said yes. We did see each other the following day and went out. We went to the Confucius Temple, the next day to CCTV tower then Old Beijing. The next day she came with me to see the great wall. Honestly it was the best thing that happened to me while in Beijing and I'm back in my country now but we still have communications and she even invited me to Shandong. So what was it? Scam or not? But for what its worth, I should say XIE XIE for talking to the two wonderful Chinese ladies at Wangfujing otherwise i have never met someone very special to me now.
11th April 2011

robertwnyc@gmail.com
Well, I just got scammed as well here in Beijing. I feel so stupid. As I paid $400 USD for 4 different teas. I wish I could return home now. I really fell for this guy and I should have known the warning signs. Why would a stranger want to hang out with a foreigner other than to take advantage of them in some way. However, this guy was smooth. He said he was off from work today and thought he would go see some of the city. He invited me to walk around with him and I reluctantly agreed after he assured me that it would not cost me a dime. I thought okay, well I guess it won't hurt to have some company as I do not speak Chinese. Nevertheless, he proceeded to talk and walk with me. We took a look at the National Theater before proceeding to Hutong. He then spoke about his love for tea and preference for the tea area of Beijing where there are very few tourist. I thought it would be great to expenrience the tea culture so I agreed to go to a tea shop where we got "hammered" with samples of tea. I though not bad. This is nice. I never anticipated buying tea in bulk. However, before you knew it. I was purchasing 4 ten cans of "fresh tea". As he proceeded to buy as well. I didn't have a clue I was being scammed. Nevertheless, when I finally calculated the cost, it was too late. I was already back in my hotel where I asked the staff to assist me in calculating the price I just paid. I felt so bloody stupid. I am trying so hard not to allow this to ruin my experience in this country. However, I am really not feeling it and wish to go home. But, I have work to do while I am here. Please advise of any other scams I should be made aware. I am not usually scammed. This really sucks!!!
26th April 2011

Tea scammed
I wish i had read your blog earlier. I fell for the scam too and ended up paying $1000 yuan for some tea that i didn't care about. This tea scam warning should be on every travel blog and related travel sites. We should never fall prey again!
7th May 2011

they got me too!
just arrived in Beijing last night and got ripped off by the same girls it seems....
7th May 2011

They just got me!
..... same scam in Beijing
24th June 2011

I got scammed too! jerrr Beijing Tea Scam is Real
i got scammed on my way back to South Africa after three months of Expatriate work in China. Having arrived from Henan Province earlier in the morning of 30 May 2010, my Emirates plane to Dubai scheduled for departure at 23H00 that night so i decided to kill some time by going site seeing in Beijing Alone to visit famous spot like Forbidden City, Tianmen Square etc. Look i can also pretty much cut and paste your stories here but i am angry now that i realised that I was scammed by this four beautiful Chinese girls all dark haired. The bill came to 4500 Yuan and i went crazy. i told them we must all share the bill as we all drank together. my part came to 1200 Yuan. They paid the whole bill with their credit card and i just had to refund them. Danm this girls! I am thinking of going back to Beijing soon to the same spot for my Revenge. This time i will teach them a lesson! lol
1st March 2012

KTV Beijing Scam
Scam #1 should now be KTV. Whether you enter on your own or taken by a Chinese “friend.” You are in for a major screwing, not literally. It looks like a karaoke place, but wait. You enter the room to sing a few songs and have a few beers. Suddenly girls appear and want to drink with you, “No Charge.” You feel it looks like fun and you say okay. Suddenly a cart appears with lots of snacks and a six pack of beer. The snacks are NOT free and they are expensive–but more on that later. The girl wants a brandy and you say okay; brandy is 130 rmb [later it turns out that is per ounce--the drinks obviously turn out to be three ounces each]. The waitress wants to drink and you say, NO. She says no problem she will buy her own drink. When she finishes it is placed on the table. The girl will play you and rub up against you and dance for you. She can really drink, [though you notice she leaves the room after each drink {only to find out later she spits it in a can or vomits it up.] Each time the waitress buys her own drink she places it on the table. When you have drunk too much and know you need to leave, the waitress says you must tip the girl and the waitress as they live on tips only, they do not get paid. What is normal tip? 600rmb a $100 each?????? Oh, and they must get tipped before bill. Why? Because they know there is no way in hell you will tip them after the bill comes. When the bill comes it is over $2000 for four of us!!!! Interestingly all the waitress’s drinks got counted on the bill. They merely count all the bottles and glasses on the table many of which the waitress or the girl escort were going to buy for themselves! You ask to see the manager and he agrees to lower the bill to $2000 but no lower. You explain you do not have that cash. No problem–one of there big guys accompanies you to the ATM conveniently located right outside the bar. On the way back to the bar you poke your head inside a room and tell some college kids to watch out they are going to get fleeced, you are ushered out so fast your head is spinning. After too many beers you are not thinking to just not pay, hide your credit cards in your shoe, run away, or call the police, they are counting on too much alcohol and not much clear thinking. Once outside I meet four young guys from America who had each been ripped off for $300 each. In talking to other people anything marked KTV and you are going to get fleeced. I am meeting with the Chinese consulate to see what can be done. But Scam Number #1 should be avoid KTV bars!
7th March 2012

Another one bites the dust.. happened to me and my friend last week :(
3000 rmb is our score! damn! why would anyone want to do this to tourists especially? Whatever happened to creating a positive image of the country / people, etc.. seriously, dont they understand the basic fact that we're far away from home and might need money to survive and spend on other good things? crap, what a shame! I've never been tricked my entire life.. so, it made me sick and misanthropic. What makes even more pathetic now is the fact that there are comments here that date back to 2008 and this STILL happening in 2012. Quite an achievement scamsters.. way to go! :-/
29th May 2012

The same story
I was walking on people square, and then a chinese woman and a chinese boy approach to me and ask me in very fluent english if I could take a picture of them, I did, and they start asking me about me, where are you from? You look like chinese but whit bigger eyes, and stuff like that, and also they told me that they werent from shanghai, but another place in china, then they say we are on the way to drink some tea, Do you want to come whith us? I thought Why not?, must be a very interesant way to drink tea, when we arrive there,the hostess guided us to a private room, then she start preparing tea, I drink only 2 mini cups, almost like tablespoons, and then I said..... Whait a minute, they walk straigth to the tea shop, they don't even looked tor the place, and I realize that it was an scam, I said, you know what?, I dont want more tea, I don't have more money, just for my train station, they try to sell me tea in a beautiful boxes, but I said no, however the girl buy a box of tea, whe te bill arrive, it was 1200 RMB, they want me to share the account, but I said Im sorry, but i really don hve enough money, and they "generously" pay a part of the acount, and I ended paying 128 RMB. I went back to the hotel, and looked in the internet, and I found that efectively, it was an scam, thank God who protected me from another kind of things.
25th July 2012

The Beijing Tea Scam
While I was taking pictures at the Tainanmen Square, an english speaking Chinese girl approached me and asked about my whereabouts, job, purpose of visit to China, duration of my stay in China etc. I told her that I am from India and have come to China for work and would be staying here for at least an year. I thought she could be a tourist guide and hence approaching me to offer guide service. Her name was Amy and she mentioned that she is an English teacher. After hearing this point I was interested to discuss further with her as I needed to gather information about kindergarten schools and their expenses in Beijing for my three year old son. She agreed to share information on this matter and insisted me to join for a cup of tea in a nearby air-conditioned traditional Chinese restaurant (quite close to the Tiananmen East Subway station). I agreed and on our way from the square to the tea shop I requested her not to take me to an expensive restaurant. We walked along the streets that looked like old traditional Chinese place. She took me to a small shop and ordered for the tea. The waitress brought a couple of pots of traditional Chinese tea along with some crispy snacks. I did not notice any other customers in that shop and hence grew suspicious about the surroundings. After 5 minutes I asked the price of one tea pot. Believe it or not, answer was the surprise of my life, she answered 800 RMB. She had ordered two pots of tea and snacks, together which made a bill of 2000 RMB. I felt very helpless in that situation and told her that I cannot pay the bill of this amount. She offered to pay half of the bill and insisted I pay the rest half. After 5 minutes of discussion I said I will pay 100 RMB for making a mistake of trusting someone like her to seek information. I gave 100 RMB to the waitress and came out of the restaurant. By this time I realized that the whole thing was a scam and I had been fooled. Yes, I accept the fact that I have been fooled by that girl. I also wish to mention that in my past one week of stay at Beijing I had very good experiences wherein people came out of their way in subway, buses, streets, restaurants etc and guided me when I faced difficulties. Having experienced the good-at-heart Chinese peoples assistance, I believed this girl and got into this trap. I have learnt a lesson and will remember it throughout my life. However, this bitter experience will not change my belief in those kind hearted Chinese people who are out there on the streets helping foreigners. Yes, I have learnt a lesson and from now on I have decided to be very cautious about interacting with strangers. My personal suggestions to tourists: Don't disclose your hotel details (if you are staying in an expensive hotel) to strangers. They might say that you are rich and expect you to pay the bill. Don't carry unnecessary valuables and extra cash when you are venturing out alone. If you wish to sit in a restaurant and discuss with some stranger(s) then insist that you decide about the restaurant for having "Chinese Tea" and don't go where they decide to take you. The girl had very fluent spoken English. She was boasting of having travelled to many countries. The girl had information about India and hence could easily entrap me in the discussion.
27th August 2012

CALL The Police They will help
just got scammed like everyone here has been blogging about since 2008 , came back to my room and read this blog so i called the police .I asked for an english speaker so i was transfered to a very nice officer who took all the details then asked me to come to station and meet him. I did they drove me to the tea house, the owner a loud mouth dirty language low life (highly UNcharechteristic of my impression of Chinese, ive always known them to be so polite and educated but not this bloak)He claimed i didnt pay since the girl paid with her card but i then gave the girl cash ,he said he didint care and i should have looked at the menu bla bla bla bla....... to make a long story short I demanded my money back he tried to lowball me but i was very insistant nonwithstanding his filthy mouth and uneducated cursing, i got all my money back. the police are aware of this but there seems to be a very grey area in china when it comes to price gouging ,none the less the police really do want to help you so PLEASE call them. Do not let these crooks ruin Your trip to CHina ,Do not let them tarnish Your opinion of a wonderful people and wonderful culture.I will come back to CHina and have restored confidence after being helped by the beijing police.Please report this if it happened to you !!
2nd September 2012

Exactly the same thing happened to me tonight.
Exactly the same scenario, two good looking, well educated chinese girls started talking to me as I was exploring Wangfujing. One called 'Lilly' claimed to be an English teacher and the other a business women, the two were 24 and 25 and said they met at University and were enjoying a holiday together from Nanjing. After half an hour the conversation was going well and we were having fun, to be honest I was genuinely enjoying their company. They recomended we grab a drink, I naively thought, 'why not?'.Anyway we ended up in some tiny bar, where we were directed into a small room with a tea service, I didnt think anything of it still, anyway two pots of tea and 1 bottle of wine later the bill arrives......8900 yuan! I almost passed out, I argued, I got very upset. I dont even like wine, I only drank it because they ordered it and i didnt want to be rude. The girls said they would pay half and I pay the other half. I kept saying, "I do not have this money!". At this point the bartender starts taking photos of me, the girls are argueing with me and the bartender starts shouting 'PAY!' 'YOU PAY!'. I previously mentioned to the girls I was also a new teacher at X school, they then start saying that I will be kicked out of the school for causing trouble and that the bartender has my name, from my bank card and also photos of me. Everything was getting way too much for me at this point, I only arrived the previous day and these two girls were the first two people I had actually had a proper conversation with, I felt belittled, bullied and very very pressured by the whole situation. I ended up buckling and paying 2000yuan.....over half of all the money I have to live on for two months. I now feel like dirt. Im upset, depressed and mostly very angry for being so trustworthy. China is a nice country but these people have ruined it for me. I can no longer fully trust anyone who tries to speak english to me, especially girls, as I have too much to lose. This needs to be stopped! These people are a blight on beijing. They are very very smooth and also convincing. They arent like a quick pickpocket, they slowly take the time to get to know you, almost lull you into a false sense of security and friendship, then when you feel safe and unsuspecting they all strike at once, springing this elaborate and well thought out scam on you. I intend to go back tomorrow with a Chinese friend and demand my money back and also make a formal complaint to the chinese Police and Government.
24th September 2012

The same way one girl came talked to me in front of tian an men square, and then said she will take me around to show some traditional street in forbidden city, on the way she said O, come on lets drink chinese traditional tea n made me pay around 2000 RMB, she looks like a student n she told me that she is from Shen dong or some place n will have her flight in 2 days. Watever they say dont listen to them, stay away from these bitches offering tea, who r fucking China n Chinese ppl image in the foreign world n foreigners. I cut short my visit n next to next day I left Beijing wid this shock n financial atrocity by this sucking clan of chinese.
17th March 2013

Picture of a scammer
http://picturepush.com/public/12437545

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb