Arrived, alive and tired


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
January 14th 2010
Published: January 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pulled an allnighter the night before the flight packing and sorting out all odds and ends. Then was subjected to the best in-flight entertainment I've ever had on an airline. Which forced me to stay awake most of the night. But I'm here now, safe and sound but feeling abit groggy. Here being a nice little hostel in a quiet alley round the corner from the Forbidden City. (what a name) It's called the Happy Dragon!

So far, most locals I've tried talking to have very limited English so have been playing my fair share of charades and name dropping what little Mandarin I have under my belt. I can now count from 0 to 1000 and say the days of the week, months etc. Again in-flight entertainment at it's best. It's 2.48am here and -5C which was a pleasant suprise after reading various reports last week of record-breaking snow and even colder temperatures. Anyway I've had a quick half litre and I think I'm just about ready for some shuteye. Think the plan for tommorow is it to wake up fairly early and go watch all the tai chi and calligraphy at the Palace with a nice warm bowl of noodles.

Goodnight. Or good evening to you guys back home...

Advertisement



14th January 2010

what was the in flight entertainment? chinese whispers? or do they just call it Whispers over there... or National Whispers... anyway glad to hear your really really far away =P
14th January 2010

Glad you've arrived safely
Good to hear that you've arrived safely. Have fun and don't forget to track down that Ice Palace! Love Dad x
15th January 2010

Glad you've arrived OK
Hi Richard Glad to hear you have got their safely. Have fun at the palace tomorrow!
15th January 2010

india
yeh u know that link you sent me, been talking to them and im all good for up to 1360 pound reimbursment for travel and accomodation to india. how rigid are you on when ur gunna be in india? i think i can do it pretty much anytime thisyear but i will have to plan and book it a good three monthsish before i go, visa and health check reasons, so lemme know when you think you might be there. gunna try and see you in china too, but might just come to india... to be honest i think i will enjoy it more than china
15th January 2010

glad to hear you got there ok! sounds very exciting! and don't worry about not knowing much mandarin - you're learning it the fastest way! xx
15th January 2010

Phew!
Glad your safe richard :) all sounds good so far! No trouble yet! I'm excited for you!!!!! Lots of Love x
28th January 2010

Dad...
... I find it amusing how you were suggesting to avoid Beijing because of the weather but then suggest going further north to Harbin, where the Ice Palace is. It's -30C in Harbin!! Nearly went :P
28th January 2010

Smurf
thats awesome news about India, glad it worked out. Well I really want to be in India for Diwali which is in November, but will try and get there earlier. I will know better when I either find a job in China or count my loses and move on. Will try and keep you updated! I've never heard a Chinese person whisper over here, I think all the Chinese whisperers had to leave and claim asylum in the West. Haha but I could return at any time, your never safe...

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb