A home from home


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
January 19th 2010
Published: January 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Tiananmen Square MonumentTiananmen Square MonumentTiananmen Square Monument

A monument to the founders of Communism
Well I'm back at the Happy Dragon, which at this point is feeling a home from home, the staff are very helpful, I've got them to write a few useful phrases in Manadrin on scraps of paper as the communicating is pretty tough here.

Even finding the nearby Forbidden City was a challenge. I met the most persistant rickshaw driver in Beijing on the way. No variation of no, ignoring him or speeding up could shake him. I finally agreed with the sniggering locals and decided to make a break for a thin path, walled off on either side, I left the driver thumbing over whether to force his rickshaw through as I stumbled across the huge walls that went as far as the eye could see. The Forbidden City.

After paying to get it in, shaking some beggars and thanking some strangers for telling me I have a good personality, and yes the hair is real. I made it into the maze of corridors, gardens and luxorious ancient Chinese buildings. The Forbidden City is called a city for a reason. I love the names the Chinese give to all their grandest buildings. I think 'Temple of Intense Happiness' was my favourite. It appeared to me just a large dusty hall full of faded artwork and intricate architecture. I think somewhere in the 1500 years since it was built it has lost the ecstacy it obviously induced upon the Emporers of yesteryear.

By the way Tiananmen Square is blooming massive and surrounded by fences and security checkpoints. If you miss an exit, you are walking for 10 minutes before the next. And Chairman Mao's face is the biggest face I have ever seen as he peers ominously over his square.

The next day the Temple of Heaven was on the agenda, I'm glad to have gone on the Saturday because it was full of locals dancing, practicing instruments and huge crowds singing (which I decided to stop trying to join in with after a few funny looks) Some pensioners were pulling some moves with hacky sacks. One old lady nearly bicycle kicked the feathery sack in a way our footballers would struggle. Old men playing Chinese chess with crowds of up to 15 people peering in. The atmosphere was so peaceful. The temple itself, the biggest in China was the most magnificent building I have ever seen.
And that my son...And that my son...And that my son...

... is how you decorate your house at Christmas
Even the 8ft model nearby took 40,000 seperate pieces to build. It wasn't so much the size of it but the immense attention to detail.
Best day out in Beijing.

In the evenings were shared in the company of 2 Michaels, some dumpling making and rice wine. The first was a young lad from Newcastle, just finishing 6 months teaching English in Chengdu. The second a large and loud Aussie living in Shanghai with some mates. The last, a strong vodka like spirit that the barkeep refused to show me the bottle when I asked.

As I write this I have left and returned to Beijing in search of a particularly scenic part of the great wall, at Simatai Village 120km away. Had a mini adventure getting there and back (which I will do an entry for when I get some more time along with some replies I was hoping to write now, sorry guys) and now waiting to depart for Datong, home of the impressive Hanging temples. I am catching a train at 1.58am, my first taste of economy sleeper class transport. Will be in touch soon. Hope you are all well. x


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Home?!Home?!
Home?!

closer than I thought.
Me making dumplings.Me making dumplings.
Me making dumplings.

Did I mention, I failed?
Your moveYour move
Your move

locals playing a game I will never understand, in the gardens of The Temple Of Heaven
Some traditional food?Some traditional food?
Some traditional food?

1 exploded chicken please
Don't do anything.Don't do anything.
Don't do anything.

Oh by the way, feel free to smoke.
The Happy DragonThe Happy Dragon
The Happy Dragon

The handrails are drawn on
Most annoying man in BeijingMost annoying man in Beijing
Most annoying man in Beijing

Avoid him and his evil rickshawing ways at all cost
Dragon Statue in Forbidden CityDragon Statue in Forbidden City
Dragon Statue in Forbidden City

Plenty of dragons littered around with envious facial hair
Diven Palace of Imperial GoodnessDiven Palace of Imperial Goodness
Diven Palace of Imperial Goodness

Ok maybe not called quite that but the main Palace in the Forbidden City
Forbidden cityForbidden city
Forbidden city

Buildings like this everywhere
Forbidden city, small roomForbidden city, small room
Forbidden city, small room

Look at that! it's ridiculous
RoofRoof
Roof

more dragons
My living roomMy living room
My living room

This is where, assuming I become Emporer, I'll kick back
Tiananmen SquareTiananmen Square
Tiananmen Square

Mao's face, guarded intensly
Look how massive it is!Look how massive it is!
Look how massive it is!

Thats one big face


19th January 2010

cluck
bring back the recipe for exploded chicken! im assuming fireworks and poultry :P x much love fendog!
19th January 2010

hmmm
thats not as big as my face. why is tiananmen square guarded? what is it? i thought it was just a normal square... :S
19th January 2010

Yay!
Love your little story so far, i am VERY jealous! Keep up the awesome explorations! Can't wait to hear more from you! :) xxx
20th January 2010

Happy days
Glad to hear you're not buried under all that promised snow! Great last entry - keep it going! Missing you already. Love Dad x
21st January 2010

it looks amazing! love all the pics and captions, especially the exploded chicken and sign saying you can't juggle! :P xxx
21st January 2010

It looks like your having a lot of fun there, I'm very jealous!!! Glad its all going well and you keeping us updated. xxx
28th January 2010

Smurf
The squares just guarded because theres loads of guards everywhere and any riots or protests happend in the square, proberlly because of its vast size..
28th January 2010

Haha I loved that sign to, theres one which looks like "don't put your srm in the air"

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb