I'm here!


Advertisement
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone.
As I'm sure you all know I've moved to China.
So here I am in Beijing, sitting on the couch in my friend's apartment that I will be sharing with him for a little while. It's now 1pm, but my body's telling me it's midnight. I arrived at the Beijing Capital Airport last night at around 9:45, then went through immigration and everything without issue, then proceeded to wait like 45 minutes at baggage claim for my bags to finally come up.
With all my stuff together, I went out and got in a taxi and headed over to the Chaoyang district, and here I am.

When I finish updating this, I am going to head out to get some authentic Chinese food (finally!) and get some shopping done, get a Chinese phone number, etc. and go to the police station and get registered, then start looking for a job teaching English.

The internet here is not bad, it's not too slow, the only issue is accessibility. Facebook, youtube, and a ton of other sites are blocked, including my old blog site. Luckily, skype isn't blocked, so I was able to sign on this morning and got to chat with Vika for a few minutes, which was awesome.

At the moment I'm questioning my own sanity, but I think things will get better once I get settled. For now though, I am crashing at a friend's apartment in a foreign country, I have no source of income, am thousands of miles away from my family and friends and the woman I love, and all of the sites that I have grown accustomed to using to keep in contact with everyone are blocked. I could use some prayers right now.



Advertisement



23rd February 2011

I'm glad that you made it there safely Josh...Of course you are in Aunt Beth's and My Prayers! We love you!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb