Cambodia emotionally, Home physically


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
December 26th 2006
Published: December 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, this journey is now well 'n' truely over. Not only has this trip been a wonderful voyage of discovery of other cultures but it has also been a voyage of self discovery. What have I discovered?

1) Physically, I'm 52 not 22 (a very important realisation)
2) I'm not as courageous as I thought I was
3) I'm not as independent as I thought I was
4) There is a difference between being alone and being lonely and sometimes that difference
is as subtle as it is enormous
5) The human body can sweat from places I didn't know it could sweat from (even as a nurse)
6) Why undies were invented....to soak up all the sweat
7) Ditto for sox!
8) The simplest of things can be the most heart warming and entertaining....something we
often forget when we're so busy being busy
9) The indelibility and resilience of the human spirit
10) As I'm getting older my life seems to be permanently on "fast forward" while at the same
time I'm finding more 'n' more things I want to experience. Will there be enough time?
11) That I really can live without makeup, hairdryer, hair shaper, monthly hairdresser appointments, perfume, half a dozen shoes and outfits to choose from, and that all I need can fit into a backpack.
12) Australia really is THE LUCKY COUNTRY


Now it's back to the drawing board to plan 'n' organise the next trip. Where to next rime? Canada...to visit Mel? Thailand, Laos and China? Sth Africa, Kenya, Tanzania? Egypt? Sth America? Cambodia...again?

OH, YES PLEASE!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.03s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0143s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb