Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South
December 8th 2013
Published: December 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It is very hard to believe we leave in six days! We were both a bit worried that almost a month was long but it seems as if we just arrived.

Yesterday we went to the Killing Fields. Very moving and so sad. I had the same emotional response as I did at the death camps in Germany. The group went on to the Genocide Museum but I just couldn't continue. Our CMbodian guides have been very frank and open about the reign of the Khmer Rouge and the current government. Brave Young people!

Today we were one the bus all day with some "happy room" stops. We stopped at the ancient Naga bridge and finally arrived at our wonderful hotel! We are here three nights then back to Bangkok and home.

You all know how I love to cook and try new recipes.....well I have some new culinary delights to share. In Vientiane we stopped for a beer and enjoyed sauted crickets, grasshoppers, and grubs! Actually yummy and crunchy with a little salty taste. In Luang Prabang we had duck and some cocktail that had duck blood. But...I save the best for last! Today we went to a village and watched as a woman dug up really large taranchilla. She killed them by pressing on their belly and then, with crushed garlic, deep fried them. I ate all of these delights. Prior to their death I even had them crawling on me. I think we have been gone too long.

You will have to wait for some of those pictures but I have attached some street scenes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



8th December 2013

Spelling
Write out 500 times before breakfast: TARANTULA In my opinion the legs were yummy, that big fat body (must have been a female) less so! Adam
8th December 2013

But I thought my spelling seemed so Spanish.

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb