The somewhat more sercert beach, and some questionable diving.


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
December 6th 2009
Published: December 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our desperate journey to try and escape the unrelenting bracelet girls, and my ADVENTURE diving




So after being hassled repeatedly the Bracelet girls, I had more bracelets than I could shake a stick at and we made the executive decision to try out a beach recommend by this Irish fella living in the area. Otres Beach it was called and when the tuk tuk driver told us 5 dollars to get there, I thought we were getting ripped off. But once we started the journey I could see why as it was 5 bucks as it was an old unpaved red dirt road that took us a solid 20 minutes to get down. Once at the beach it was all worth it, white sand beaches with crystal clear 29 degree aqua water. Absolute heaven! Although about halfway through the day the bracelet girls did find Adrian and try and force him to buy more, I pretended I was sleeping the good friend I am. After working hard on my tan and rewarding myself with dips in the water, we decided to settled in at a place for dinner to watch the sunset, best decision ever! Definitely the nicest sunset I have seen since away, and lovely home cooked Khmer food.

The next day I decided to get another country under my diving experience belt and venture the seas of Cambodia. It was a bright and early day and I was bright eyed, bushy tailed and ready for an adventure. Little did I know I had a proper adventure in store. The boat taking us the two and a half hour boat ride was just an over sized long tailed boat and there were some massive swells waiting for us. Cracking jokes about surfing and gingerly picking at the breakfast fruit platter, I was just trying to wedge myself on the seat so I wouldn't topple over the other side of the boat. About half way a lovely little Khmer girl curled up on my lap and fell straight asleep, her mom just looked at me and smiled. Although I am not so happy to report that her sisters weren't handling the ride so well. One was puking over the side and the other two were puking in their shirts, this was at my immediate right and I was just so happy I have a strong stomach. Once the island was in view the wave seemed to transform somehow into perfectly flat water and we rolled up to the "pier" (I say pier and brackets because it wasn't much more than sticks nailed together) smoothly. After is crazy ride I was a little worried about how the diving would be, am happy to say it was much better. Although lots of the reef is dead and not well maintained the fish were still lovely and that amazingly relaxed feeling only diving can give me found me as well. Next day it was back to Phnom Penh back to the hustle and bustle of the city.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb