Getting Things Done


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
June 21st 2013
Published: June 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Old Jeep WillieOld Jeep WillieOld Jeep Willie

This is the one I wanted but has no legal paperwork. Okay in the capital, could be really annoying in Sihanoukville. The cops there suck
So I have spent the last few days on the Capital trying to take care of things before I head down to Sihanoukville. It is easier and usually cheaper to get things done in the capital as this is where everything happens anyways.



On Wednesday I took Ikelos to a western vet here to get his yearly vaccinations. Nice and cheap, only $35. The I went to a pet store to try and buy some dog food for him. Man that shit is expensive here. $110 for a 32lb bag of half-way decent food. They are willing to break the bags into kg to sell and I was able to purchase 2kg for $15. I figured I should try some first to make sure Ikelos can eat it. Unfortunately I don't think he can eat dry dog food anymore. The last two times I have tried to get him started eating it again he starts hacking up water and throwing up throughout the night. So I think no more dry dog food for him. The vet said his heart sounds weak which is something I knew. I think his heart could be slowly failing and the dry dog
The One I BoughtThe One I BoughtThe One I Bought

a Suzuki Jeep. Legal paperwork, aircon, and a radio. Maybe I'm getting old. 5 years ago I would have definitely bought the cool old one.
food is too salty maybe. So I will just keep feeding him chicken, rice, eggs, bones, etc. It is kind of a pan in the ass here because I have to buy it from restaurants and that can be a little expensive and hard to explain what I want. Once I get my own kitchen it will be much easier.



Yesterday I went and looked at a couple of jeeps and I am also trying to find a motorcycle or scooter of some sort as Socheata actually sold mine when I was in the states 😞 The jeep is good for longer rides and when moving Ikelos or other things, but it is also nice to have a scooter to just zip around town for errands. Less gas and all.



So far I have looked at two different jeeps. One is a 1958 American Willie that has had the engine replaced with a toyota diesel engine. It makes it better on gas but I personally know nothing about fixing diesel engines. I really liked it but there is two problems with it.

1. He is asking too much. He wants $3500 for it
A Dog and His BoneA Dog and His BoneA Dog and His Bone

Ikelos munchin' on a bone
and I think it should be worth closer to $2000, maybe $2500.

2. Since it is an old American war jeep it has no ownership papers. It never went through the correct import procedures and such. I have been asking around, but from what I can gather there is no way to make the vehicle 100% legal. If I cannot register it, then if the police stop me and decide they want to take the jeep, well there is nothing I can really do about it. The chance of that happening is slim, but definitely possible. If I was to live in Phnom Penh I would not worry so much about it, but in Sihanoukville the police love to pull over the "long noses" (a new term I heard today for westerners)



The other is some newer model Suzuki Jeep. Probably like a 1997 or something. It actually has aircon and a radio. You could almost compare it to my jeep wrangler back home. The guy said that the top can come off, but it is really hard to get on or off. I am not 100% convinced it actually comes off though. I would have
Lady in RedLady in RedLady in Red

Another one I looked at. It looked nice and freshly painted. He would have taken $3300. Also no paperwork
to inspect it sooner. The price is reasonable though. He is asking $3500. It is definitely more practical than the other one, but when have I ever been practical.



There is also a really nice looking jeep up in Siam Reap (5 hours north). It a russian A2, but I don't really feel like heading up there to look at it. At least not just yet anyways. I am ready to get to Sihanoukville and start trying to settle in.



I went and bought my Cambodian driver's license today. Costs me $60. Would have been $45 if I had a permanent address with a lease in my name. I was given a provisional piece of paper today and the laminated one will be ready in 3 weeks.

Hopefully I should be able to leave here in another day or two.We'll see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Fresh as Fresh Can BeFresh as Fresh Can Be
Fresh as Fresh Can Be

He is making noodles for my soup.
Almost ReadyAlmost Ready
Almost Ready

It was quite yummy!
WranglerWrangler
Wrangler

I even found a wrangler in the capital. It had legal paperwork and she would sell in for $4250, but I figured I would just save a thousand and buy the suzuki. I like the wrangler better but they took out the 4wd and since it had a cloth top things could easily be stolen
Old Man and the KidsOld Man and the Kids
Old Man and the Kids

The kids around here love to come play with Ikelos and watch me feed him.
BirthdayBirthday
Birthday

It was the king's mother's birthday. The fireworks are exploding over one of the new fancy hotel/condos being built here


30th June 2013
Almost Ready

So Ikelos looks really happy!!!
Could you get someone to take a picture with you next to the dog or the jeep....or will they run off with the camera..hahhah Glad to know you now have the correct shots...and happy to see you up on this stuff and yes you are getting older and wiser.....you can't get much smarter you know..now use those smarts..I love and miss you Mom

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb