Morning beauty in the city: Wat Phnom


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
June 17th 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: around wat phnom 17 secs
I'm not a morning person. For a certified night owl like me, I really dread mornings, except if I find myself still awake from an overnight of doing my usual stuff....well, sometimes I happen to live by night and sleep by day, just the typical night-owl-me.

Well this is one of those days.

Since I still didn't feel sleepy (it's already 6am and I hadn't sleep yet since last night) I decided to go for a walk.

Destination,

Wat Phnom

.

Situated on 27m high, it is the only hill on the city. Legend says that the first pagoda was built in 1373 to house the 4 statues of Buddha discovered by a lady named Pehn.

When we went here a few months ago through our class cyclo trip, a lot of locals pray for good luck, amidst the observing eyes of the foreigners who want to take a glimpse of it. When their prayers are granted, they will make a thanksgiving in the form of garlands or banana which the spirits, they say, are very fond of.

Sometimes elephants roam around the area where you can opt for a ride.

Wat Phnom is not
a vihara or a stupa (i guess)a vihara or a stupa (i guess)a vihara or a stupa (i guess)

vihara or temple sanctuary
that stunning but it's one of the frequented sites for travelers so spending a minute won't hurt especially at times like this when there's no street urchins to pester you or vendors trying to touch your soft side by selling caged birds (you pay the freedom of the birds whom, the local says, are trained to return afterwards).

and oh....Watch out for the monkeys...

Anyway, I'm happy as it turned out to be relaxing.

Cool breeze.

Green surrounding.

Therapeutic.

till another morning....


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

what time is it now?what time is it now?
what time is it now?

hard to miss the time eh....


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb