Motorbiking through Kampot and the Countryside


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kampot
October 17th 2012
Published: October 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

One thing about Asia, unless you stay at the most exclusive resorts I guess, is a hard bed is just a given and somewhat expected. The degree of firmness the mattress can have is still a wide range, from let’s say a pile of bricks to the point it will actually give when you sit on it. So far this trip, while they still hurt my back, they have been better than expected. I only bring this up because I woke up this morning feeling better than usual and realized I had actually slept well, and without thinking about it, realized this was the best bed I have had on any visit to Asia. Now I know what you are thinking, it must be a slow day for news, but when you can actually stand up without wincing in pain, it’s a good thing!

Bounced up this morning, pain free, and spent the first part of the day running a few errands getting ready for another travel day tomorrow. Then the hotel set me up with a motorbike and off I went. It took a few to find a helmet that would fit my noggin, but success. Now I don’t know why, but including a pic, even though I know it’s going to end up on some bulletin board somewhere at work. I already have a title for it: Dope on a Mope!

I whizzed around town stopping at a couple of Temples, then picked a road without a lot of traffic and headed out of town. I so enjoyed this other than the roads got very iffy very quickly. I would stop and snap a couple of photos, but the faces of people that would pass me in the middle of nowhere, seeing some fat white guy putting along dodging potholes, was priceless. I only had one close call when I was trying to maneuver this maze of mud holes and my front wheel slid off into the muddy water and I stuck my foot out to catch myself. The bike did a little pivot one way and I went another, luckily I caught myself and the bike without falling, but ended up with a muddy shoe and muddy bike when the back wheel slung mud all over. These 2 guys that happen to be passing stopped to make sure I was OK, and along with these 2 kids and women at a house close by, we all had a good laugh. I bowed and put my arms in the air and said to make sure you tip your waiters on the way out. I don’t think they got it even though they laughed very hard.

After arrival back in town I found this pie and ice cream shop and stopped for some apple pie and vanilla ice cream. It was quite delicious surprisingly and the ice cream was refreshing on a hot day. I talked for a few minutes to the owner from Canada, he was quite the character. I am always on the lookout for a job.

After a small break I headed out of town after finding another little gem of a road. I can’t describe how cool it is just to head out, not know where you are going, what you are going to see, just one surprise after another.

I found this temple close to the river that had one of those really long boats I was telling you about earlier in my trip that they race on the river. This boat is so long and can hold at least 60 people and someone said they have much longer ones in the races. I included a pic for you to see.

I also found this dodgy looking massage place, and took a pic, and NO, if you know my history I did not go in. Long story meant for my long time blog followers.

I cannot believe my time in Kampot is over, it was only 2 ½ days, wish it could have been longer. This town is great and its easily a place I could be happy in. For anyone traveling about Cambodia, after PP or Siem Reap, this is a great place to stop and unwind, just chill out and see the beautiful countryside.

I was debating my options on returning to Siem Reap this morning. It is far too long a trip to take a taxi, and another 14 hour bus trip makes me sick to think about. So, it’s not the cheapest option given the holiday and all, but I am going to fly from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap. I tried to work out a taxi to the airport in PP from here, but they wanted $55, and compared to an $8 bus ticket, I chose the bus. It’s only supposed to take 3 hours, so I will risk it. I can then get a tuk tuk to the airport from the bus station. I should arrive in PP with a few hours to spare, so I am thinking about a couple of stops I could take on the tuk tuk to sightsee while there.

Happy Travels, Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



17th October 2012

Awww Bubba, you look so cute on your bike!! Your helmet just frames your little face!! So glad you didn't check out the "massage" joint. I must say the pics of the countryside are beautiful, so peaceful looking. A job at the icecream parlor.........ummmm now I could do that also. That would not be nearly as stressful as a shift on high risk OB or surely not as stressful as a shift of HS for you!!!

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb