If I ask nicely, can I please stay?


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
December 15th 2011
Published: December 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Can you believe that I only have 6 more sleeps in Cambodia? I certainly can’t... Sure, it feels like a lifetime ago that I arrived, but also it almost feels like it was “just” yesterday. Three months here seemed such a long time in the planning stage, but I could stay for a year and still want more time here.......I love the place, and I feel so at home here. I’ve really settled in and feel like part of the landscape, I no longer feel like a foreigner.... I know the streets and surrounds, I know some of the locals, I’m on waving terms with the tourist police at various checkpoints, I understand some Khmer..........it actually cracks me up when I’m changing channels on the tv and see something that looks a bit interesting and leave it on that station, yet it takes me a few minutes to realise that I don’t fully understand the dialogue because it’s in Khmer !!!!



I’ve been feeling a certain element of sadness the last couple of days ....largely due to the fact that I realise my time here is finite and that I no longer have the luxury of doing something tomorrow or next week......I have to ensure that I get out there and take in every bit of the culture and behaviours of the locals.......let the calmness that is so apparent, fully soak into my cells, so that it doesn’t leave me for a long, long time once I head into the hectic world outside of Cambodia...I need to eat as much green mango, pomelo and Amok as I can, because I won’t get it after Wednesday......I will also need to re-adjust my thinking on pricing, as I know I’ve been really spoilt here and that will change very soon. Gone will be the meals that cost me $3.00 – noodles, chicken, vegies, and a drink......Though, if I’m really, really lucky I may just get a decent cup of coffee in Europe somewhere, but after Sylvi’s recent experiences up there, I’m not holding my breath in anticipation.....maybe I just have to wait until I get back to Brisbane and can visit Division Tecnica again ...ahh, I miss your coffee and cheerfulness.



It’s been an interesting time of late......I’ve been slowly transitioning into holiday mode, as I’m only volunteering at school in the afternoons, so have my mornings free. It’s been such a luxury not having to get up and rush to be anywhere, and let me tell you that I’ve made the most of it. It’s nearly always very social downstairs over breakfast, and I’ve met some fantastic people along the way, which is awesome. I know I’m generalising, but I truly believe that the majority of people that travel to third world/developing countries are a special breed of people, that have great hearts......ok, let’s just exclude the revolting old men that are just here to pick up the prostitutes (male and female) and pretend that they’re having a satisfying “relationship”.... I really have met some fantastic people so far on this journey, and feel so blessed that we’ve crossed paths. I may only keep in touch with a few, but I’ve shared many hours with some very interesting people with amazing life stories and from all walks of life........I will remember them for a very long time to come. It’s amazing how open and honest people are ...and so kind hearted and genuine...you can’t help but grow as a person simply for the fact that you’ve shared a few hours with these people.....something of their nature seems to attach itself to you, and you to them, and you share stories of your life and there is always the honesty that comes with talking to people that you know you may never meet again....it breaks down so many barriers.



I realised the other day that I’ve taken about 3500 photos in the last 3 months.....wow, so many reminders of the time I’ve spent here........the people I’ve met......the experiences I’ve had......the sights that I’ve seen. I have my laptop set up to flick through my albums as the screen saver, and it’s fabulous having the constant reminders of this fantastic country.



Last Sunday I went to two more temples, this time I was kind to my foot and took a tuk tuk instead of riding. I went back to Ta Prohm (went there 3 years ago and loved it), and also Banteay Kdei. Naturally I took dozens (ok, hundreds) more photos, and will include a few favourites with this blog.



On Monday I did a photographic workshop (better late than never) and learnt more about my DSLR and now feel more confident using it.....which is awesome. Carolyn took me down to a slum area by the river, that oddly I didn’t realise existed.....she’s a portrait photographer, and also does a lot of street photography, so taught me so much about photographing people – something that I’ve normally shied away from as I rarely get really good photos of people. She also broke down some of my inhibitions re getting right up close to people that I don’t know, to photograph them.........I’m so used to the western need for personal space, and even though I’m aware that the Cambodians live their lives in full view of nearly everyone, I'm still surprised that many of them don’t mind being photographed - I can't imagine too many westerners would appreciate cameras being "stuck" in their faces by strangers. In the past I’ve asked if I can take photos of some people, but not many, as I’ve been quite shy about it.........I will do my best to hold on to the new found boldness, and try to continue to take interesting photos of the locals of the areas I travel in... Will also include some of the photos with this blog.



Oh how I wish I’d had my DSLR with me on Saturday night during the lunar eclipse..... I was out to dinner with a group of people (for the birthday of one of the house guests here that is also volunteering) and I’d forgotten about the eclipse, so only had my little camera. In truth though, I would have just taken basic photos of the moon during the eclipse and nothing as special as some of the photos I’ve seen on the net, where the moon was position over famous landmarks – like the Golden Gate Bridge etc....brilliant.



We currently have a really great couple staying at the guest house and we get on really well. He’s from Switzerland, she’s from Belgium, and they met in Scotland...their's is a great love story. We went out for dinner the other night and stayed out way too late on a school night (for me anyway, as they’re on holidays)....they are such good company and we were having such a great time though so we didn’t realise how late it was until we got home....it was good fun. While we were out, we got to talking about cheese – something that is sadly lacking in Cambodia, in fact fresh/good dairy products are sadly missing up here..... So last night, we went to the “western” supermarket and bought some good French cheese, olives, gherkins, bread, crackers, fruit and wine and had a great picnic up on the terrace....such a simple pleasure, but it was really nice to do something like this in Cambodia...I rarely feel the sensation of homesickness, but sometimes I miss these simple pleasures....



Today is my second last day at school....I’ve found that because I’m only working directly with the 4 youngest kids, that I haven’t formed too many close bonds with many of the other students... There are a few that come up for hugs during the breaks, but most just get on with their lives and play their own games etc.....so I don’t feel the sadness about leaving, that I did when I had to finish at the school in PP. I get on well with the two teachers, but they’re males, so once again, I don’t have the strong friendships that I developed with my teachers in PP. Oh, I received a text message from one of my PP teachers (Lida) last night....it started “Dear sister, I miss you so much...” - how lovely. Lida and I are really close and she’s told me a couple of times that she sees me as a sister, more than just a friend....she’s the one that’s getting married at the end of December and asked me to attend....what a shame that I will be in Budapest and not able to go – I would have loved to celebrate with her and her fiancé and feel honoured that she invited me.



So, what do my last days in SR hold? I have to pick up some clothes that I’m getting made......I also plan to do a couple more bike rides and explore a few areas that I’ve not yet seen....Aly (a tuk tuk driver that I’ve met through school) and I are donating blood on Saturday morning and probably catching up for dinner tonight.....I’ve also got a hair appointment on Saturday afternoon with an Aussie hairdresser –yea - I’ve only had one (bad) haircut since I’ve been here, so it’s really long and messy, plus the water up here has dried it out terribly – I’m SO looking forward to the haircut (and losing the scruffy backpacker image – ok, slight exaggeration).......I also have a bit of a farewell dinner on Saturday night with a group of people that I've made friends with...and then Sunday I’m heading out of town to visit one of the remote temples, plus a river that has carvings in the riverbed.... So busy times ahead.... I also have to work out what clothes and items I’m leaving behind, and repack my bag – I purposely brought some older tshirts etc up so that I could donate them to charity when I was leaving....my bag was considerably overweight on the flight from PP to SR, so I need to shed at least 5 kgs..



Oh, my foot is improving........and I really dislike the brace and strapping but rest assured that I do wear it most of the time. When it’s off, the foot is still uncomfy to walk on, so I’m always reminded that I need to take care. I promise I will look after it, as I want it to be better for Europe when I have to wear enclosed shoes (have been in flipflops for 3 months)....and when I ride the bike, I use mainly my left foot and only push down with my right heal. My shoulder is still sore and I wish now that I’d had it xray’d also, and have decided that if it’s still sore next week, I’ll get it checked in PP on Monday or Tuesday....



Ok, best go.......hope you are all having a fantastic lead up to Christmas, stay safe and catch you when I next have time to write.......



Hugs, Rob


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



15th December 2011

Sounds great
Your time in SR sounds like a good combination of work and being a tourist able to soak up the atmosphere of the place. It sounds like a more relaxed place then PP and not getting too attached to the SR kids is probably better for you in the long run. Makes it easier to say goodbye. But if you love the place so much, I'm sure you could find a way to return after your European trip. You've got a few contacts there now so they could help?! I love the photos you enclosed. It certainly looks like an interesting place. Hope the rest of your stay continues to be really enjoyable and your foot and shoulder completely heal before you set off walking Europe with boots and heavy jackets on. Stay safe, have fun. Lots of hugs and kisses. Sylvi xo

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb