Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
November 27th 2010
Published: November 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hit Siem Reap the 'land of the temples'. Spent about 4 days in Siem Reap, buying a 3 day pass for the temples. First day i headed to about 10 temples, without a camera this was a great achieve. I purchased a guide book to read up about each temple. Every time the information went in it went straight back out, but I tried. Headed to another set south east called the Roulous Group which had 3 temples, this one temple looked good was a temple mountain called Bakong.

Final day I headed to the main attraction Angkor Wat, which was a fantastic sight (but had some scaffolding on). Walked around a lot, I must say it looks better to look at. Unfortunately I couldn't go to the top as it was 'closed for cleaning' just my luck. I do have some pictures of Angkor Wat as for the finally day I travelled with a friend I met in Saigon called Michael. http://picasaweb.google.com/gvozdedir You will see some pictures of me for a change.

We then headed to Angkor Thom which was a huge city area and inside were many temples, mainly the Bayon which was ice, could wonder around the temple and the main feature was the 4 faces facing in each direction at the top of many of the mini temple things. Finally to end my temple tour of Siem Reap we went to Ta Prohm. Apparently this is where Tomb Raider was filmed and I must say it was one of my favourites as most of the temples have been renovated or are going to be, but with Ta Prohm they are going to leave in it's original state (apart from letting rocks fall on peoples head) to show what the temples looked like when they were found. I must say that some are tricky to climb the steps as the steps are so high and so small, doesn't help vertigo.

Angkor Wat is a must see for anyone, but be prepared to see a lot of similar temples. Oh, just to let you know, I'm trying to eat as much local food as I can and got lazy fishing out some of the vegetables, so starting to get some of my five a day. (Note will only eat the vegetables when it's with the local food and not with the western cuisine).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb