Siem Reap - near the famous temples


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
May 5th 2010
Published: May 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SOIDSOIDSOID

The SOID schol in Siem Reap
Well it's very hot here - 35 today. After a change of hotel by the volunteer organisation (without telling us) which was a little scary when I arrived and was taken not to where I expected. So I am one of 6 volunteers - 4 of them 18 yrs old and a 29 yrs old nurse. Again things never turn out as you plan and expect. I had volunteered to work in an orphange ( as did 2 of the others) and thought that it would be good to help with domestic tasks and caring for the children. However all the places are for teaching. I was allocated a free school where children attend either morning or afternoon for free and some of them go the the Public School in the afternoon - or not. The kids are lovely and it's true children are children the world over - especially at playtime ! The big boys play fight and the big girls sit inside and natter. Had to have a bit of a strop ( unusual I know) as we were expected to take over from the teachers the next day and work for both sessions - 6hrs in this heat.
SOIDSOIDSOID

The classroom
I negotiated and said I would plan and teach a lesson only in the morning and the teacher could use my plan. Today the lesson went well - had them talking in front of the class instead of lots of writing and copying and chanting. I am taking the top class with ages from 13 to 17. Not sure my reduced work has gone down well with the teacher and the co-ordinator but one of the benefits of age is that you care less what people think of you !! To be fair I was thinking more of myself as I would have been exhausted by Thurs !!

Cambodia is still recovering from the awful killings and persecution. The population of young people is 65 % of the whole country so there is much potential for education for the future. There seems to be a huge amount of foreign aid and charities sponsoring projects so wonder how it would be without this help. People are polite and respectful and it feels safe. Food is lovely and cheap. Haven't sorted out trip to temples yet - maybe at the weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

SOIDSOID
SOID

The playground
SOIDSOID
SOID

The school door


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb