exhausted!!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
February 15th 2009
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm sat at an internet cafe in siem reap, slurping my well deserved fruit shake and punching hard of the broken keyboard like a typewriter (excuse any spelling mistakes!)

the temples of angkor are amazing and cambodians are so friendly, i'm nervous about teaching but so excited about living here for three months. Today I went to visit some oof the temples away from the angkor complex. I hired a bike and managed to navigate the bustling traffic on the highway number 6! a great experience, but i looked awesome in my surgeical mask to keep out the fumes!!! cycling has been a great way of seeing the areas in laos and siem reap; i haven't fallen off yet, but i did have to push my bike for 3km after getting a puncture on my way home from angkor wat on the first day!! ahh!!!

I finally found the small cluster of roulous temples today, but i didn't realise that it was the same pass needed for these as it is for the angkor complex (special laura!) so i have taken pictures of the outside of the temples!! really need to upload photos, this is getting beyond a joke 😊 i'm going to have a mass putting them on if i ever stop!!! hehe spending lots of time lounging in the sun, alreay finished two books (and i'm quite a slow reader!)

anyway, back to today...i was disheartened not being able to see the temples after cycling 16km, so i carried on going to a small village. i decided to stop at a tea garden (i was drawn in by the name) and met an english family who were involved in different volunteering projects in siem reap. another option if i enjoy my experience in phnom penh! it was such a great atmosphere and they were so lovely! there are lots of options for after i finish in june, but i think i will have to wait in orer to decide what to do. i already feel myself growing up alot with this trip, learning to deal with situations as they happen!

off to sit in the garden and have another fruit shake before heading back to my guesthouse for a much needed shower (only cold water...i'm learning alot about endurance levels!!!) Dosing myself on antihistames; mosquitos seem to love me!! my elbow is now the size of a golf ball, as is the back of my leg!!!

flying to saigon tomorrow to stay with my friend jazz who is teaching there for 12 months!! a full itinery planned 😊 very excited! better go, lady wanting to use the computer!!!!! 😊

laura

Advertisement



19th February 2009

What fun
Good to read your blog. Will look forward to reading more. Take care. love JT

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb