Angkor Finale


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, the end of an era has come. Three days in Siem Reap, 17 temples, and a billion miles walked on foot in knock off Pumas. Sweet. I have to say that these past couple days have been amazingly exhausting, and I am very sad to leave Siem Reap and the temples. Most of them have been breathtaking, and have a definite sense of overwhelming peace to them (minus tourists). The food here has been great, and the prices not so bad (about 2$-4$ for a full meal). Our guesthouse has been nice too, and I'm sure we won't see such luxury for so cheap in our time to come (3.30$ per person a night).

Today we did our last circuit around the Angkor grounds and saw all the wats we had been wanting to but just didn't have time. This is going to be a short recap because I have a lot of pictures I want you all to see. So without further delay...ultima recap in fast forward:


* woke up, ate free breakfast of MSG noodle soup - I feel my glutamate receptors tingling
* went to .50$/minute internet cafe for email and skype....3000 riel = .75$ = 1.5 hours of internet & coffee
* hired tuk-tuk (rikshaw - sp?) for 12 dollars for driving whole day
* saw: -Phimeanakas
* -Terrace of the Leper King (big disappointment...where the f is the statue of the leper king?)
* -Terrace of the Elephants (again big disappointment...where the f are the elephants?)
* -Preah Palilay (awesome)
* -ate lunch 2.5$ = pineapple and chicken + rice
* -drank some water (here, replenish your fluids)
* -Preak Khan (awesome and huge)
* -tuk-tuk driver disappears
* -found tuk-tuk driver, he runs to us and apologizes - I revoke my silent threat to destroy him
* -Preah Neak Pean (biggest naga I've ever seen in the 21st century)
* -Pre Rup (amazing sunset + 1000 hungry snarling tourists - I get my pepper spray out and spray a path to a good picture spot)
* -tuk-tuk driver takes us back to Siem Reap and asks for 14$ - we pull out the big guns: 2 more dollars
* -ate dinner (disappointing, but Dan and I eat sauteed frog legs, Paul can't stomach it and waits for us to barf)
* -Dan and I go back to fancy pants internet cafe and lose motivation while posting pictures


Tomorrow we leave for Phnom Penh. Enjoy the pictures, they're more detailed than these pictures...by about 200 kb a piece.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



10th January 2008

I didn't know you are such a good comedian
I love your pictures and your blog is great! I've been very entertained reading it! Still laughing about your corn scam. Safe travels, love you!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb