Day 4: Eastward Bound from Thailand to Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
July 17th 2005
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

About 45 minutes ago, circa 9:00 pm (there is a 12 hour time difference between Thailand and Cambodia) we arrived at Siem Reap, Cambodia...our travels took a mere 14 hours rather than 12. The bus ride was indeed quite bumpy, but I loved seeing the villages we passed through and the countryside. Frequently our van was met with the waves of small children with bright smiles. Now that we are in Siem Reap it is evident that there is a drastic contrast between life in the small villages and the city of Siem Reap. Cambodia has only truly been safe for traveling in the past 10 years, with one of the major draws being the Angkor Wat...which I am EXTREMELY excited to see! After studying Southeast Asian Art and Architecture while I was studying to become an art teacher I knew the Angkor Temples were something I wanted to see some day. Tomorrow is that day 😊

A native Thai posted a comment about my anticipated travels today to Siem Reap via Poipet (the border city on the Cambodia side), and everything stated was echoed through our travels as well. One of the major adventures of the day included the
Immigration check pointImmigration check pointImmigration check point

Check point between Thailand and Cambodia
actual border crossing...en mass we were hearded like cattle, waiting in the blistering sun for just over an hour. Apparently some of the native Thais like to cross the border as there are gambling opportunities on the Cambodian side in Poipet. At one point I think many of us thought we were going to become permantly affixed to the pavement, melted to the ground...but eventually we made it through. The border crossing is something I am glad I experienced, but I think if I were ever to travel to see the Angkor Temples again, I would fly into Siem Reap (I am fairly certain Bonnie flew into Siem Reap, but Milu did you fly or take another form of transit?).

Some of you may still be wondering what the Angkor Temples are...well, according to the Lonely Planet Cambodia guide, "The traveler's first glimpse of Angkor Wat, which represents the full flowering of Khmer genius, is a breathtaking experience, matched by only a few places on earth such as the Great Pyramid of Giza (which I was fortunate to see) or Machu Picchu in Peru (perhaps my next adventure??)." So I am ready to be awed and impressed tomorrow!

Since I am quite tired, I think I will conclude here...perhaps not an adequate representation of all I saw and smelled and heard but a small sliver of what I've experienced.

Thanks for your comments and emails!

Advertisement



17th July 2005

can't wait to hear about angkor wat! been to macchu picchu and it was spectacular and angkor wat's high on the list for future travel. sounds like you have some interesting travel companions. so enjoyed your updates so far. keep 'em coming.
17th July 2005

EASTWARD BOUND FROM THAILAND TO CAMBODIA
THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR TRAVEL EXPERIENCES - IT'S GOOD TO HERE FROM YOU AND KNOW THAT YOU ARE ENJOYING YOUR TRAVELS. MOM AND THE KITTENS
18th July 2005

Hey Wendy! I'm loving your travel journal so far. I especially liked your description of the market in Bankok. I hope that you're holding up in the heat. Keep the journals coming!
18th July 2005

Thanks for keeping us in the loop! It's so exciting to hear about your impressions of places I've been and stories about places I've never seen. Can hardly wait for your entry on Angkor Wat!
18th July 2005

travel well!
Hi Wendy - sounds like you're having a great time!! The book club is soldiering on in your absence (Stef made asian chicken with sobu noodles on Sat!) . . . I can hardly wait to see your pictures! -K
18th July 2005

I didn't realize I'd be traveling this summer as well -- albeit vicariously thru you -- but what an adventure... I would have taken the bus as well; now you can take the plane next time, but what a way to see the countryside... I eagerly await the "next chapter" and can't wait to hear about your experience of the Angkor Temples were like... till then!
18th July 2005

a note from your little sis :)
W- Glad your experience has been good so far, other than the long flights. Been enjoying your commentary, and I look forward to more! I can almost picture the sights, tho I'm sure I'm not doing them justice. Till the next installment...

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb