Time Stands Still and History Takes a Nap


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma
January 15th 2006
Published: January 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just like a kid again!Just like a kid again!Just like a kid again!

Indeed, eating with my hands, doing a little scoop and shove, it was reminiscent of those days when silverware was cumbersome. In that sense, there's nothing like an Indian thali servedo on a banana leaf.
I'm still uncertain as to how to refer to this enigma of a country. Calling the country Burma subtley voices disapproval at the fact that it is ruled by an oppressive military junta; whereas, Myanmar is what the government has declared the name of the country to be. It's a country where people can go to jail just for speaking against the government as is the case with the comedy troupe the Moustache Brothers. The country remains highly controlled and the Aung San Suu Kyi, former leader of the Democratic party and 1991 recepient of the Nobel Peace Prize, is in and out of house arrest and has seen her voice essentially be silenced after winning the popular vote in the 1990 elections.

Knowing these things made seeing the country and meeting the people a different experience. For them, foreigners are there only outlet and the only way of getting information outside of the propoganda that the government is continually spewing about 'national solidarity' and 'meddling foreign governments'. The thing is, through it all, the people are beautiful and amazing and dynamic to talk to. It was them and not the ruins and the rugged beauty of the country that
Line 'em UpLine 'em UpLine 'em Up

Nothing like a little coordinated pagoda sweeping to keep the environs clean, but I'll be damned if my feet still weren't filthy after padding around the Shwe Dagon.
made it so worthwhile to visit; it was the people. Go there and see for yourself.

I'm not going to write too much this time, and I know that it's been ages since I've posted, but I am going to leave you with a few pictures to scrutinize as they tend to speak louder than words.

For me, life's been moving pretty fast. Since my last post I've left India, spent a couple of weeks in Sri Lanka, my Christmas holidays in Thailand, and have now visited Myanmar.

What's more amazing is that I'm creeping up on my one year travel anniversary. Even though I've been living the year, I really find it hard to fathom all that I've seen and all that I've done. I guess you could say that I've seen more than I can ever remember and now know that there is more out there than can ever be seen. But all that means is that we'll never run out of places to travel. Ah, and let's not forget the AMAZING people I've met that I've been lucky enough to share the experiences with.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

STUPA HO!STUPA HO!
STUPA HO!

One of the grandest stupas in all of Myanmar which can be found in the capital of Yangon.
A monk being a monkA monk being a monk
A monk being a monk

Ah, finally a monk doing something monk-ish. I always say them taking pictures, lounging in Ray-Bans, or making cats jump through hoops. (Sarcasm intended)
Stylish yet refinedStylish yet refined
Stylish yet refined

Nothing quite like an unintentionally well ventilated bus to give you the chills before the sun rises. Sean and I decided to be practical and stylish on this little trip. Hey, all the other people were wearing towels on their heads (seriously!).
If I only had some ninja socksIf I only had some ninja socks
If I only had some ninja socks

As I was saying: not only practical but ever so stylish.
My new girlfriend in MyanmarMy new girlfriend in Myanmar
My new girlfriend in Myanmar

There was a lot of discussion between Sean and I as to what exactly was being smoked here, spiritually enlightening I imagine.
Tree Bark SunblockTree Bark Sunblock
Tree Bark Sunblock

These girls laugh in the sun's face as many of the women in Myanmar do; nearly all of them wear Thanaka as sunblock in order to attempt to preserve a fair complexion which for them symbolizes beauty and prosperity. Ironic to think about when Westerners work so hard to be tan.
The darling of the bridgeThe darling of the bridge
The darling of the bridge

Found this little beauty on the 1.2 km long teak wood bridge in Amarapura outside of Mandalay.
Moustachioed Rebel RousersMoustachioed Rebel Rousers
Moustachioed Rebel Rousers

These eccentric fellas are known as the Moustache Brothers. They are blacklisted by the government for telling jokes that mock the corrupt military government of Myanmar. One of them, Par Par Lay, received 7 years of hard labor for his sharp sense of humor.
Fishing by SunsetFishing by Sunset
Fishing by Sunset

A little sunset as I traveled by ferry from Bagan to Mandalay.
From A to BFrom A to B
From A to B

Can't you hear this conversation as they load up: "Now Bob you swing around the outside. I'll hold on by a couple of fingers and toes. Then Jim if you could just hang on for a few more minutes--Whoops, lost one..."
Stupas Rule in BaganStupas Rule in Bagan
Stupas Rule in Bagan

Not much you can say about this. It's simply opulent and impressive.
More pagodas than you can shake a stick at.More pagodas than you can shake a stick at.
More pagodas than you can shake a stick at.

Or at least it would take you all day considering the ancient pagodas in Bagan number in the Thousands.
Inle Lake BoatingInle Lake Boating
Inle Lake Boating

Powered by an atrociously loud lawnmower motor I was instantly transported back to my youth, when I used to be subjected to countless hours of grass cutting during the summer. I could almost smell that freshly cut grass...


24th January 2006

Doppelganger siting
There's a guy who's started going to Starbucks in Norman who looks a lot like you, but without the turban. First time I saw him I was standing in line and turned around and there he was, and my face briefly really lit up. He must think I'm the friendliest person in the world. So--I forget--when are you returning stateside?
24th January 2006

More power to you man....congrats on your year travel anniversary, have read a few of your blogs and think you have a good attitude to travel. Will be heading off shortly to similar places to you and might email you for some information on locations, warnings etc. Best wishes and happy travels Cyril....."Ireland"
24th January 2006

nice pictures
it looks like a very beautiful place!
25th January 2006

I love the pictures and the journal entries. I am so JEALOUS of you. I would love to be able to travel like you are. Maybe one day....ahhhhh. Hope to see you when you return to OKLAHOMA. I graduated in December and I am headed to the lovely state of TEXAS. I will be in Dallas, not in Burma. Keep taking pictures. Take Care, Mary Green
6th February 2006

Amazing
Just spent an hour of my life reading through all of your travel blog, and have to say that I am quite impressed. Can't wait for the next entry, good luck and good travels my friend.

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb