On the Down Low in Myanmar


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Yangon Region » Yangon
January 24th 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Myanmar Independence DayMyanmar Independence DayMyanmar Independence Day

A friendly chicken fight between some local boys.
Here it is everyone - the long awaited Adeline take on her travels in Myanmar. First the places I have been: Yangon > Bago (Golden Rock) > Inle Lake > Mandalay > Irrawaddy River > Bagan.

Myanmar isn't the easiest country to travel in. It's huge and the major cities are much too far apart. But I believe I've taken every mode of transportation available from planes, trains and automobiles to trishaws, bicycles, boats and horse carts. There is way too much to say about this country with such a tumultous political history. The present military dictatorship has been in power for the past few decades and there is a palable feeling of unease amongst local residents. That said, people have adapted very well and really welcome tourism. The people here are amazing. I especially apperciate the way they go against the government's ban against internet communications. I now know so many ways of checking email subversively. And of course lest we forget the subversive comedy stylings of the now infamous Moustache Brothers, who are no longer allowed to perform publically or for locals so now they try to educate foreigners from their home. And there's also the town (which
Pretty in PinkPretty in PinkPretty in Pink

Two young Buddhist nuns and me.
will remain nameless) that welcomes tourists as witness to government atrocicious policy of taking men from the village to work in forced labour camps. Tourism in the town means that the govenment leaves them alone. The currency has been demonitized so often that not even the government trust they money. When ever you take a train or anything else run by the government they only accpet Amercan dollars. Myanmar is full of stories like this but yet they keep on living as well as they can. They really are an inspirition. Tourism in Maynamr is not yet very developed (I would it say it's a little less developed than Laos), but this in my opinion is a good thing. Prices aren't yet overblown and I went days without seeing white faces (except for the ones I was traveling with!). Obviously, everyone took me for a local. One man insisted that I wasn't Canadian but "mordern Burmese." The men of Myanmar especially seemed to like me and I quickly discovered how to say "I love you" in the language because guys kept saying it to me. I thought they were asking where I was from! Poor Vincent and Alexis just got
Men in skirtsMen in skirtsMen in skirts

Men in Myanmar are so secure of their manhood they wear skirts - called Longyi - all the time.
gawked at while I was getting marriage proposals!

I'm writing this on the night before I fly home to Canada. Once again I am a prisoner of Khoa San Road. I have so many more observations and anecdotes about Myanmar and my trip in general but I will save those stories for when I see everyone again. For now enjoy the "photo essay" I've included with this entry. I haven't included any of those iconic Bagan temple pics because they're still on my camera and it doesn't seem to want to work on this computer. I'll be seeing ya'll soon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Teak BridgeTeak Bridge
Teak Bridge

Sunset on the famous Teak Bridge outside Mandalay
An evening with the Moustache BrothersAn evening with the Moustache Brothers
An evening with the Moustache Brothers

Myanmar's favourite comedy troupe/subversive revolutionaries


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb