Day 05: Memories of Bhutan (Gangtey >> Paro) with Druk Asia (Jan 2020)


Advertisement
Bhutan's flag
Asia » Bhutan » Paro
January 16th 2020
Published: August 22nd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, 16th January 2020

The drive back to Paro City was long and winding. I had mixed feelings about leaving Gangtey given that this is probably one of the most beautiful places in Bhutan. However, my minor brush with altitude sickness meant that I could only get better when we headed down to the lower elevation. Along the way, we made a couple pit-stops to complete the long journey.

By noon, we were back at the beautiful Dochula Pass for lunch before continuing our drive to Paro via Thimphu. It was early evening when we reached downtown Paro where there was some free time for shopping and light snacks. Over coffee at one of the cafes, I had a good chat with my guide and driver who had accompanied me over the last couple of days. I appreciate such candid conversations with them to understand about the lives and the challenges faced by the local people.

My room at Tashi Namgay Resort was huge by all standards and it commanded a nice river view overlooking the airport. Staying for my final two nights, I retired early after dinner to prepare my body for the uphill climb at Tiger’s Nest the following morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb