Everyday Life


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh
February 16th 2008
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SanctuarySanctuarySanctuary

My little spot on the veranda
Here are a couple of pictures to get a sense of my everyday life here in Chittagong, Bangladesh.

Sanctuary
I have set up a little sanctuary on the veranda outside my room. It’s a small place to read and think and pray about things. The clothesline also runs above my head in this place, but it doesn’t get too terribly crowded. "Until I went into the sanctuary of God; Then I understood their end" Psalm 73:17.

Entertaining
Natasha and I were left alone without a cook or bearer just before heading off to Nepal for Christmas and decided to have a couple of close friends over for dinner. The cook had left a couple of chickens in the freezer and one was de-boned. We cooked all day and managed to make chicken crepes, mashed potatoes, and some veggies complete with a chocolate cake for dessert (my specialty). Our guests stated that they wouldn’t have come had they known we didn't have our cooks, but enjoyed our meal. One of our guests had the brilliant idea to ask one of the guards for help with clean up. He appreciated the extra money, and Natasha and I could finish packing for
EntertainingEntertainingEntertaining

Natasha and I with our mess in the kitchen after cooking dinner for some friends
our trip 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

View from a RickshawView from a Rickshaw
View from a Rickshaw

Bangladesh is probably one of the last countries to use Rickshaws for transportation purposes, not necessarily tourism
Overweight TruckOverweight Truck
Overweight Truck

Walking home from school one day I managed to capture this truck making its way down a busy road here in Chittagong
Ocean CityOcean City
Ocean City

Modern shopping mall across the street from school
Down the Roads to SchoolDown the Roads to School
Down the Roads to School

Local roads have undergone severe weathering from recent flooding
Short-cut on my Way HomeShort-cut on my Way Home
Short-cut on my Way Home

This small patch of trail connects a couple of roads on my way home from school
Intersection by My HomeIntersection by My Home
Intersection by My Home

Almost Home... walking from school


1st March 2008

your flat
Awesome pictures. I hope to see more. You have a great little kitchen. How fun. Do you get to watch your cooks? Picking up any tips?

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb