Starting Out


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh
September 23rd 2007
Published: December 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

I made it safely to Chittagong, Bangladesh on August 29, 2007 and am having a fun time adjusting to a new culture. I love and miss you all very much, and God has been doing wonderful things in Chittagong, Bangladesh. Here I am at the top of a hotel in Chittagong just across the street and down a block from the school. Nice view of Chittagong. In the next couple of entries I will try to sum up the past three and a half months of my experiences here in Chittagong and may be a bit vague, so bear with me and feel free to post lots of feedback. As a photographer of sorts, I like to tell my stories through photographs. Here are a couple of photos I found worth commenting on.

Eid Mubarak! (Happy holiday!): I got a chance to hang out with the Beliasov family on a local holiday towards the end of September. They took me hiking around a more remote part of the city. We hiked to the top of a little hill where we could see the ocean and a couple of ships on the coastline. Mr. Beliasov is the head teacher for High school and Middle school at WCA. He enjoyed playing Cricket with some of the kids hanging around. I enjoyed talking with his wife Mirium (Mirm) and playing with their children, Noah and Noel. Behind me are some plots that have been purchased for a small neighborhood to be built in the area, but nothing has been done thus far.

Towards the end of a retreat filled with fun and encouraging meetings, a few of us decided to venture just an hour or so further to Cox's Bazzar, the longest beach in the world. This is a view from the nicest hotel in the area. It has an amazing pool next to those farming off the land. The rich and poor live and function very close here in Bangladesh.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb