Day 10 in Dhaka


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka » Dhaka
June 17th 2013
Published: June 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It takes time to adjust to heat, humidity and smells of Dhaka. The City slows down between 2 AM and 4:30 AM then it is call to prayer. The sounds from my bedroom window begin most mornings at 0700 and are those of industry - primarily construction. The sound of hammer hitting brick and sand being scooped into a bag. There are very conversations heard on the work site outside my window. My "apartment" is a room with two twin beds, one with mosquito netting and a bathroom. There is a common sitting area and a common kitchen. Breakfast is one I prepare, usually a cup of STARBUCKS coffee (yes I brought two pounds with me)and eggs. The mango fruit is wonderful and fresh and there are varieties I have never heard of before. The road way outside this apartment is dirt and is rutted from trucks, carts and rickshaws driving through the mud. So far I have only experienced one day of rain - the umbrella, although handy did not keep me dry! I was walking home fortunately and had time to dry my clothes on the line prior to going back out.

I hope everyone is having a good summer. I hope you will stay in touch.

Love

Shirley


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb