Perverts Wear Purple


Advertisement
Antarctica
January 20th 2017
Published: January 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Perverts Wear PurplePerverts Wear PurplePerverts Wear Purple

With reading material 'Bizarre' - sparodically produced from 1948 -1959 with letters, articles and photos of Pin-up bondage. Thanks to LW and her expansive library.
As well as the US inauguration, today is coincidentally International Fetish Day where people support the BDSM community by wearing purple (because #pervertswearpurple). Don't worry, I'm not going to go into a lot of detail about fetishism and sexuality, but will say that International Fetish Day is about celebrating and supporting sexual fetishes that are consensual acts between adults.

So why does it need to be supported? Fetishes are usually very private, only to be shared with an intimate partner, if shared at all. They can make people feel vulnerable, dirty and abnormal. But a fetish is just the 'need or desire for an object, body part or activity of sexual excitement' (yeah, that's right, I looked it up in the dictionary). Not all fetishes are to do with whips, leather and domination - though they are pretty common. Some people like balloons.

I have been wearing purple all day, and pretty much every time I saw someone else in purple, (there was a woman in my office was wearing a very low-cut purple top) I instantly assumed they were wearing the colour for the same reason. It doesn't help that I work in a bright purple office and had Gogol Bordello's song 'start wearing purple' stuck in my head for most of the day. Yes, the colour purple is now permanently seared into my brain. Whilst researching international fetish day, I came across this particularly interesting article https://www.theguardian.com/fashion/video/2013/nov/13/how-to-wear-purple-video teaching women how to wear the colour purple, because purple is not just for old women and eccentrics any more. I'm not sure they intended it for the likes of me or anybody celebrating today, but ah well.

I've been reading articles and books on Fetishism. Thanks to my friends' extensive library, I've had the opportunity to read some pretty cool and interesting books on fetishism and sexuality that I did not know existed. I have picked out a couple to flick through over the weekend.

Sexuality is a spectrum and whatever gets your rocks off, so long as it is safe, consensual and between adults - I say 'go for it'. Enjoy your fetish.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.409s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb