CAPE HORN AND THE DRAKE PASSAGE


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » South Shetland Islands
January 20th 2013
Published: January 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

CHARTSCHARTSCHARTS

ANTARCTICA
CAPE HORN AND DRAKE PASSAGE - Saturday. Last night we passed Cape Horn and entered Drake Passage. We rocked a little through the night. Daylight revealed fog and six foot swells. The staff indicated that what I experienced is fairly moderate for where we are. I like moderate when it comes to rough seas. Not many pictures today, I didn’t spot any sea life within camera range. Went to a lecture on Cape Horn and the Drake Passage which was good enough that I didn’t fall asleep during it. I can’t say the same about the movie “Antarctica Wildlife Adventure”. After lunch of salmon burger, I went to another beer tasting event. My partners (Mike and Chuck) and I won the trivia contest (again). Did some reading before anticipated Mass. The priest I like a lot. This is his 49thcruise with Holland America. He spotted me at a bar on the way to his dinner and I bought him a drink. Real nice person and we had a nice chat. He wanted me to join him for dinner, but I declined because I wanted to see the SU/Louisville BB game on ESPN. I knew the ship got ESPN and ESPN2, the
THE CROW'S NESTTHE CROW'S NESTTHE CROW'S NEST

TRIVIA GAME
game was on ESPN. So, I went to the bar with TV and had the bartender change from ESPN2 to ESPN; but the game wasn’t on! I learned that the ESPN we get in the states is not what you get in South America (ESPN SA). I had a choice of watching women’s cricket or watching ESPN2 and following the score on the feed on ESPN2. I kept track of the game on the feed. The good guys won! Some of the “headline” entertainers left the ship at the last stop and new ones got on.

We have passed 60 degree south latitude and new environmental regulations have been instituted because of the fragility of the Antarctic region. The trip is half over having completed our tenth day. Tomorrow still at sea approaching Antarctica and the Palmer Archipelago. The plan is to enter Dallmann Bay, pass Cuverville Island, enter Paradise Harbour and sail the Neumayer Channel. We will get the football games on ship, in fact, their putting them on the big screen in the movie theater.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

RICHARDRICHARD
RICHARD

CROW'S NEST BARTENDER
JAMMJAMM
JAMM

THE PIANO BAR MAN


Tot: 0.378s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.17s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb