PALMER STATION, ANTARCTICA


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » Palmer Station
January 22nd 2013
Published: January 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

PALMER STATION - JANUARY 21 -Well, what can I say, more beauty and amazement. At one point in the early afternoon the captain reported we had spotted 28 humpback whales. I didn’t see all, but I did catch many of them. It seems like we saw many hundreds of penguins and a few Orca whales. Some of the scientists from the Palmer Station (a US scientific station in Antarctica) came on board for a couple of lectures. I managed to stay awake and found their presentation and the Q & A very interesting. In the morning I went on the bow to observe a little closer to sea level, but it was COLD, so I only could stay there for 30 minutes or so. The crew brought us Dutch pea soup while on the deck. Very good!

The afternoon was primarily spent enjoying the incredible scenery and spotting the whales and many penguins. It’s hard to describe the excitement when a whale is spotted. After a happy happy hour (I bought out the ship’s allotment of Newcastle) I got dressed for dinner; the Cellar Master’s paired food and wine event. Met some nice people and had a pleasant experience. The
ANOTHER SHIPANOTHER SHIPANOTHER SHIP

SEABOURN?
entertainer in the showroom was a good vocalist and pianist. I was surprised that her encore was Nessun Dorma and she did it well. The late night happy hour I spent with three Dutchmen (actually one man and two women; I probably should say Dutch people, but who cares?).

Tomorrow, more scenic cruising and then on our way to Argentina. Antarctica’s been great! I wish that all of you who want to see it, do. It is a once in a life time experience. Sunrise 4:00 am; sunset 10:29 pm, 34 degrees, 32 mph wind.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

HUMPBACK WHALEHUMPBACK WHALE
HUMPBACK WHALE

HOPE YOU CAN SEE IT


Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb