Not feeling my best


Advertisement
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Destination ZuluDestination ZuluDestination Zulu

This is one of the entrances to the station.
Today I woke up and drank 2 liters of water before brunch. Fresh fruit, omelettes lots of tasty pastries, a great way to start the day. After Brunch Scotty took a few of us through the tunnels and gave a tour of the off limits underground ice tunnels and facilities. The temperature down there was -66C and by the end my glasses were totally fogged along with the LCD screen on the video camera. I don’t have any pix - Ill have to get them off of the video footage later. I spent a few more hours filming some shots for the seal men movie and for the Herzog unnamed Antarctica film and then showed a prelease screening of Herzog’s Rescue Dawn. After the movie I had just enough time to pack and then get to dinner. Im sitting in the galley writing this now and helped a team out with the pub quiz tonight. Hopefully I will get some time in the next few days to really think about this whole experience and get some of my thoughts down in writing. I am leaving on the next Herc flight out of Pole tomorrow, back to McMurdo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

South Pole GreenhouseSouth Pole Greenhouse
South Pole Greenhouse

Where Vegetables Happen.


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb