First impressions of Ghana...


Advertisement
Africa
July 15th 2013
Published: July 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So after a pretty straightforward flight, I arrived in Ghana. It was pretty cool to fly over the Sahara desert - just masses and masses of sand in little dunes.

Was welcomed to Ghana by a sign saying "We do not welcome paedophiles or ther sexual deviants" which made me giggle 😊

Searched the rows upon rows of people holding up signs, and finally spotted by name - introduced myself to Jamal, who lives here in the volunteer house with us. It was such a culture shock driving up to Teshie from the airport in Accra - so many people out and about at 10.30pm, just hanging out on the streets in front of their houses. The houses are just tiny shacks for the most part, and they look like derelict buildings. Apparently they host families of 5 or so! All living in one room.....Ghanaians do not spend time at home apparently, it is just somewhere to sleep.

I did see a couple of ladies walking along with trays on their heads (I think they were oranges, perhaps).

Got to the volunteer house about 11pm - wow. 20 people living here. One bathroom (no lock) which includes toilet and shower. The water runs out mid week apparently, and then you have to have a "bucket shower" (yes, that's exactly what it sounds like!).

This morning I woke at 6.30am as everyone started getting up. Finally got a shower - and it is not a myth that there is no hot water in Ghana. Cold shower! Not too bad, seeing as its hot. I mean, it was 25 degrees when I arrived last night, at 10pm or so...

Everyone here is really nice. There are 3 dogs - Bobby, Peace and Rusky. They have fleas though apparently. :/

This morning I will be off to the school. Apparently you just get given a class and told to teach it. No idea what to expect! I was told though, that there are no toilets in the school, so to make sure you go before leaving the volunteer house. I asked "So what do the kids do then?" and was told that they just go in the alleyways...

I am hoping to spend some time in the orphanage this afternoon. So I shall update more when I have more to talk about!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb