More preparation


Advertisement
Africa
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well it is packing time and it is crisis time. It is crisis averted story time. Ready!

Every trip has a point of crisis that often occurs on the day of packing or on the day of travel. I could fill a journal just with those stories. Today's crisis came and went. I had to take with me the yellow folder certifying that I have been vaccinated for Yellow Fever. This is mandatory for the Republic of Ghana. I had the vaccination done about a month ago. I distinctly remember bringing home the signed, stamped, certified Yellow folder. Where is it?
I spent nearly an hour turning the house upside down. Along the way the orderly manner in which I set about packing was disrupted. I have nice list that I have made after many trips, and after missing key items during each of those trips. In the spirit of continuous improvement I have been also compiling three lists: one for short trips, one for longish trips (this is one such) and another for very long trips (3 to 6 months away from home).

Nothing great to say about the panic, anxiety and feeling of crisis impending. I started imagining telling "stories" to somebody at the counter at the airlines. But then an hour wasted , the Yellow Folder was in a file folder along with all the information about various dread tropical diseases. Crisis over. OK, God, now that I have had my one crisis, let the rest of the packing go smoothly. Let the rest of the trip go without a hitch.

I got the second of the Hep A shots this week. Six months later, I am to get the final shot, that will offer life-time immunity against Hep A and B. Expensive, but good stuff.

I shopped at a health food store and got some acidophilus pearls which will stabilize my metabolism. It has been rocky for the past two weeks. My kinesiologist has detected an over growth of yeast in my intestines. I bought some EmergenC and some digestive enzymes. My doctor tested and said they were NOT for me. So I spent 72$ on that stuff and had to give it away.

It is hard to stay focused on packing. As my mail box keeps getting new stuff and I do feel like sitting and typing.
That is why you are seeing this post.

Now I want to download pictures from my camera and make sure all the software works. Skipping taking my laptop and my video camera. Just a pocket Olympus Stylus 600 for this trip. It will stay in my pocket ready for an occasion. Otherwise, I can enjoy just being present fully.

Richard fixed up a new TIP flyer and I printed out 100 copies to take with me. Don't you know it? The printer started moaning that it was hungry for more toner. But luckily, using nonviolent means only, I convinced the printer to finish this job. I would not ask it to anything more today.

Last night, my circle of friends gathered at my home for connection, meditation and healing. We had a lovely dinner graced with Dhal made by my sister Kalyani. After meditation, I lay on a massage table as four friends shared healing energy as I meditated. What a lovely way to be sent off! The memories of the session will linger for, I hope, the whole duration of the trip and come in handy if anything comes up.

So thank you, Richard, BJ, Kalyani and Hannelore. I missed seeing you Linda, Lindsey, Jack, James and all others.

Adieu. Next post is likely to be from Ghana. Be well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb