Rwanda 2011 Day 11


Advertisement
Africa
November 24th 2011
Published: November 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So today started out with breakfast alone. Christina spent the night at Simon's house with Dinah, his daughter. Breakfast was more of the usual: bread, eggs, fruit, Tea, etc.

When I was having breakfast, you all in America were tucking in for the night on Wednesday. It was already Thursday, November 24th for me, but I really could not calinto "thanksgiving"
I got to the clinic and things were off to a slow start, but after the confusion cleared we got into a good flow of seeing patients and discussing diagnoses and plans. It was great working in a collaborative fashion, learning from the Rwandese and Congolese doctors I was working with at the same time I was teaching them. We did more cervical cancer screening and found another candidate for cryotherapy. I am a little disappointed that I was not able to participate in the cryotherapy of any patients, but I am impressed to see the sensitivity and thought put into allowing the patient to think about what it means and return for the treatment on a separate day.I saw a bug that I thought was a tick in the bathroom so I killed it. Then I noticed several of these bugs in and around the bathroom. I started to think that we had a tick infestation. At the end of clinic, I showed the "tick" to Dr. James and he told me this was too big to be a tick, evidently it was just a harmless beetle. Typical American - can't even tell the difference between a tick which can carry disease and a harmless beetle! We went back to Simon's house after clinic was done, had a snack and talked.Dinner was served around 8 pm and I was back to the hotel just after 9 pm. Io am alone again as Christina is spending the night with Dinah again. Now I can say, "Happy Thanksgiving to you all!"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb