Monday 6/5


Advertisement
Africa
June 5th 2006
Published: June 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

6/3/06
I grew up in a conservative church but as a young adult I never felt to be as inspired as I felt some other people were. When I went to college I had to make the decision as to whether I was going to serve the world or I was going to serve God. I knew that this was a crucial time in my life to make a crucial decision. I took my time in making this decision and was regretfully serving two masters. I thank God that He spared my life for in Deuteronomy 6:14-15 it says, “ You shall not go after other gods, the gods of the peoples who are all around you (for the Lord your God is a jealous God among you), lest the anger of the Lord your God be aroused against you and destroy you from the face of the earth.” Now a god is not only Buddha, Mohammad, Mary Magdalene, etc. but also wealth, alcohol, drugs, possessions, relationships, anything that you spend more time with than the Lord. When the definition of another god is given like this I need to pray every morning that my intent for each day would be God would be my leader and director in everything and that all of my intentions would be only for His glory. ‘Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it!’ But this entire tangent was lead on by meh Doris giving me the book, Why I left the contemporary Christian music movement, by Dan Lucari. This man was a former worship leader. I have just begun to read this book and when she first gave it to me I have to admit that my first thought is, “You are conservative, you are a different generation, and I don’t see anything wrong with God glorifying contemporary music.” But as I am reading this book it gets me to thinking why is it necessary to turn from pianos and organs which have God glorifying music to music with a beat with God glorifying music. The words are the most important part and I should be able to worship just as effectively as I can worship to ‘contemporary Christian music’. I have read about 50 pages of the book so far and I have still not been convinced that contemporary music is unbiblical but the book has gotten off to a slow start and I will remain open-minded and let you know the things that stick out to me the most and what conclusions that I come to.
Acts 17:24-25
God who made the world and everything in it, since He is Lord of heaven and earth, does not dwell in temples made with hands. Nor is He worshiped with men’s hands, as though He needed anything, since He gives all life, breath, and all things.
He doesn’t need us, we are here to give Him the glory.
6/4/06
HAPPY BIRTHDAY RACHEL! Today is my little sisters birthday and she is officially a teenager (watch out mom and dad).
Today we went to a local farm for church, they were having a dedication service for their new church building. It is a beautiful place, not very big, but it will probably fit about 100 people. The front of the church is all glass except for behind the pulpit which was crafted with different colored bricks into a cross and the roof is thatch which is beautiful on the inside and out. Thatch is an amazing creation which is rare in the states, this is probably due to its expense. It takes skill to be able to make a thatch roof, it is made out of straw and put on in layers until it is about a foot thick. Looking at it you cannot tell how it is done but it turns out to be a masterpiece. A part of the service which I enjoyed was the choir, it was composed of the women and a few men who work on the farm. They sang three songs, one in Zulu and two in Sesotho. I couldn’t understand a word which they were singing, but the way they sang and their disposition as they sang was very effective, they knew Who they were singing for.
Today I have been thinking a lot about the persecution of Christ while He was on the cross. I often let the persecution of one or two men get me down but while Christ was on the cross He endured the persecution of everyone that was around including 12 of the people who were His closest friends and followers. If I am persecuted I can often flee the situation and in some way escape but during this persecution Christ was nailed to a cross and this persecution was only a part of the torture and torment that He chose to endure. I thank God for reminding me in my times of trial and testing that it is nothing in comparison with what He endured on the cross for me.
Colossians 2:4-5
Now this I say lest anyone should deceive you with persuasive words. For though I am absent in the flesh, yet I am with you in spirit, rejoicing to see your good order and the steadfastness of you faith in Christ.
6/5/06
Today was a good day. The weather was beautiful and a lot was accomplished. Today we stayed around the house and did office work, house cleaning, laundry, cut wood, etc. I met with the girls this afternoon to schedule a time for crafts and we will be meeting on Wednesday, they seem very excited and enthusiastic about it and I look forward to the fellowship. We just need to pray that they would not take this time for granted and that they would keep coming. Often when things are given for free the Africans do not appreciate it and are quick to take it for granted.
Yesterday I was reading The South Africa Magazine and in it was an article which talked about the inventions which originated in South Africa. The ATM machine was invented in South Africa, but not by an African, it was invented by a Frenchman. The first ATM machine didn’t last so long cause it got wet in a thunderstorm. Other useful devices that can be attributed to South Africa are the Kreepy Krawly automatic pool cleaner, computicket online booking system (thank you for making my life easier), the first use of fire was recorded in a cave some 1.5 million years ago, a machine called the plethysmograph for measuring the rate of blood flow, Sharkpod which is a shark repellant device which using electromagnetism which effectively throws off the shark’s sensory and neuromuscular system causing it to stay away, and the smocking pleater for the garment industry.
Today I was able to appreciate some of the things that Africans are making. I went to a local craft store and it was one of the nicest ones that I have been in since I got here. I am really enjoying buying souvenirs and gifts, there is so much to choose from. At this particular store it had several vendors of handmade goods. The stuff is so neat. They turn trash into cute little treasures, anything from soda cans to garbage bags were turned into little cars and purses. I enjoy buying from places like this because I can support someone who needs the money with a talent that I don’t have the patience to learn.
John 15:19
“…Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do; for whatever He does, the Son also does in like manner.”
Just as Jesus had to trust God while he was man on earth, so aught we trust God in our struggles.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb