The Way


Advertisement
Africa
August 28th 2011
Published: August 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As many of you know, before I landed this opportunity of a lifetime, I was toying with the idea of walking the Camino de Santiago in northern Spain. The 800 km walk through the Pyrenees has been around for centuries. It is a pilgrimage of sorts. People from all over the world do the 30-45 day walk as a spiritual journey, a religious experience, or a time to re-connect with themselves and the world around them.

To be honest, the first book I read was Shirley Maclaine's book, "The Camino"... At this point, you are probably saying to yourself, "... Seriously?... Shirley MacLaine?" This is where I ask you to stay with me... Shirley's account of her adventure was a wacky account of dreams, other lives, being chased by the paparazzi, and the general stuff Shirley is famous for... Really? Does anyone care who Shirley MacLaine is in northern Spain?

Once I finished that book, I decided to read two other books, the name of the first one escapes me, but the author's name is Jack Latt. it is out of print and is a more historical account of the Camino. The second was, "All The Good Pilgrims" by Robert Ward. Robert is from Toronto and he wrote of his accounts along the journey. He kind of looks like Fred Penner with a Tilley hat. It was a more day by day account of the trials, tribulations, and triumphs of his pilgrimage.

Anyway, while some tend to think of the Camino de Santiago as a "New Age-y", trendy thing, I found it to be this journey where you spend a month with yourself and the amazing landscape of northern Spain. I am seriously considering doing the Camino on my way home from Africa.

The good news is that there is a movie coming out on October 7, 2011 to a theatre near you. It is callled, The Way". I was a little sad knowing I wouldn'as soon as it is t be able toen it is released since I am sure it won't be playing in the one english-speaking theatre in dar es Salaam. But it is very strange how things work out.....

Listen to this one...

the other night, I was sitting around my house chatting with my room-mate, Hannah and Nora. I am telling them about this movie and how I want to to the pilgrimage. they think it is cool. I tell them about the movie coming out, etc.

Two nights later, I open up the cabinet under our TV to go through our DVD collection and guess what is sitting on top of the pile? THE WAY!!! Someone who lived here, before I showed up, bought the DVD from a street vendor. How weird is that?

We quickly watched the film that night and I have to recommend that you all go see it.

It stars Martin Sheen as a doctor in the U.S. Emilio Estevez plays his son (there's a stretch). They are estranged and Emilio heads to Spain to walk the Camino. He dies during a storm in The Pyrenees and Martin must go over to claim the body. He decides to walk the Camino to honour his son.

The movie was shot on location, so it is a pretty movie and it is well acted. I highly recommend it.

Why we have it as a DVD in Africa is beyond me, but it is now in my permanent collection. I already told the room-mates that it will disappear into my personal belongings.

Sorry no pics this time around... Another blog with pics is coming soon.

Think of me when you see the movie!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.78s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb