The trip to and in Chobe National Park


Advertisement
Africa
May 11th 2006
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chobe National Park was different then the Okavanga. At Chobe we actually camped at a camp site versus the middle of Africa along the Okavanga. While at Chope we went on a sunset cruise on the.. Chobe River and then woke up around 530 the next morning to go on a game drive.
The best time to see game is at sunset or sunrise which explains are consistent early mornings while on "break." The park was very nice, our drive was short so we saw hardly any of it. I believe our driver said in order to see the whole parke it would take 4 days... we had 2 hours!

The best part of this early morning, cold, game drive did not involve any of the animals we saw. It infact was when our vehicle broke down in the middle of the park and we all had to push it for 15 minutes. It was great because the entire time you're supposed to keep your eyes open for any animals, so theoretically anything could have come from behind the grass. Thankfully our Jeep started again, and we soon found out that lions were spotted not too far ahead. Sadly, it took to long for us to get going that they were gone by the time our driver raced us to the location of the sighting.

Each walk, drive, or cruise I did I saw something new. It never got boring seeing elephants (which I saw the most of) because they're so gorgeous. The cruise offered me my first sighting of hippo's and girraffs while the game drive shows us many empala, some worthogs, and more girraffs.

Even though Chobe seems a lot more tourist geared it was run well. I didn't quite feel like I was in a zoo because we still had to work hard to see many of the animals. I know some of the parks in Southern Africa you get to see ALL the BIG 5 and much more and don't have to work for it. I'm not dissapointed I didn't see a lion...I swear, but it would have been cool! Ill let the BIG 5 live in their hiding places for now and be satisfied with the calm of Chobe & the Okavanga


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb