Little A Hope Christmas Party


Advertisement
Africa
January 2nd 2011
Published: January 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we had the amazing opportunity to celebrate Christmas with A Hope Orphanage. It wasn't just the little ones there this time, Big A Hope was there as well. In total there were about 140 children there.

The ENTIRE yard was decorated! Balloons, streamers, gifts, cake...and the children were SO excited....They were all wearing their "Sunday Best."

The young girls ran up to my sister and I and wanted to teach us to dance....so we attempted.... they wanted to be twirled and swung around....It was sweet....one girl just kept telling me over and over that she loved me.....it's sweet...but sad at the same time that she wants love SO bad that she is telling practically a stranger that she loves her.... breaks my heart.

The Orphanage had planned an entire program....and different groups and ages of children either sang a song, danced, performed a drama skit from the Bible, or read a poem. It was beautiful.

Every child was wearing a birthday hat, and we all sang Happy Birthday to Jesus!

Each child received one gift...and I have NEVER in my LIFE seen a child SO excited to receive a gift.... I can't wait to show you the expression on these children's faces.

Today I really noticed how "sick" some of these children were.....because last time we were at the Orphanage we were with the younger children...today some of the school aged and older children were there....and it was so sad to watch these children who looked very sick, playing and laughing, and so excited about a gift and knowing they have to be near the end of the road. I can't get these faces out of my head....

I was able to see my friend Tesfaye again. He had a HUGE smile on his face when he saw me...He looked so handsome in his little red sweater. His gift was a stuffed teddy bear, and I had the privledge of babysitting the bear for a little bit 😊

I really am broken for these children...who are yearning to have a family and belong somewhere (one of the children called one of the guys on my team DAD over and over).....but I really do feel like....for being orphans, they are all in a really good place.... they are well taken care of....and they are happy.... and I PRAY that these children are adopted.....

gotta go!!! THANK YOU ALL FOR THE PRAYERS!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Christmas gifts!!!Christmas gifts!!!
Christmas gifts!!!

The A Hope girls opening their Christmas gifts!


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb