Mzungu, how are you?


Advertisement
Africa
January 13th 2010
Published: January 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Everywhere I go, I hear 'Mzungu (white person) how are you?', or 'Jambo' and am given a hand to shake. I find it so funny, and a little bit awkward as well, especially when I am in a hurry!

It is still very hot here - kind of wasnt expecting it to be this hot... try not to laugh too much, I know it is Africa!

I have been taking lots of photos of the school and kids today (I mean lots...) so I will add them on at the weekend and you can all see where I am working. It is literally, 3 cement block buildings with chairs inside - no electric, no running water, nothing! but the kids are happy so thats good. I took my photos of Suffolk and home in today - they were fascinated! They kept asking me where things were and what they were - they all gasped when they saw the christmas tree photo, and mum and dad, you will be pleased to know that our house was described as a palace, a mansion, beautiful, amazing, incredible and lots of wows and ooohs! When you see their houses you know why.
You will all be very impressed to know that I am now the PE teacher for standards 6,7 and 8. I walk in the room with a football, they all cheer go outside and play, whilst I sit and watch. Im doing very well. I am hoping to teach them rounders and cricket, but have not yet been able to find any bats, so that one isnt working. They have three PE lessons a week, so im doing 9 in total. Whilst I have no problem relaxing in the sun, i think i should probably make an effort...

The way they teach here i strange. They walk in 5-10 minutes late (bear in mind the lessons are 35 minutes long and if a child walks in a minute late they are caned) set the work and walk out again. They have a teacher in the class for about 5 minutes. Even the baby class (aged 2 and 3) doesnt always have a teacher. It is so different to home. I have already mentioned them being caned. At my school, they seem to do it for anything - I got there at 8.50 yesterday (school starts at 8.20 but my first lesson wasnt until 9.50 so i was very early, not late!!) and there were already 15 children in a line outside being hit with the cane. I hate seeing it, and dont know where to look - they do it in the staff room as well. It makes me very uncomfortable. 😞

I went to Nomads after school yesterday with Alun for a drink. Priscilla has promised me that she will take me there one evening and get me dancing - i hate dancing and being one of only two mzungos there means that i will be watched!

I have planned my English composition lesson for standard 8 tomorrow - i am giving them a piece of writing with no punctuation in it because I have now marked their work and a lot of them dont do full stops, capital letters, commas, speech marks etc. They will do that in pairs, then we will work through it as a class. Then I am going to ask them what they should be putting in their composition work and setting them the composition 'The day my house burned down' Although i cant remember if it should be burned or burnt... i will have to find out. Just though you would all like to see my lesson planning skills 😊 To do this lesson though, i need to go home to write out the section I am giving them 20 times, as I dont want to pay to use the photocopier in the cyber cafe!

I hope you are all well,
xxx

Advertisement



14th January 2010

Mzungo, how are you?
Glad to hear you are getting on ok. I couldn't stop laughing when I read you were to be the PE teacher - have you tried forward rolls yet!!!!!!!!! I doubt you will find any bats for sports, try and find a piece of wood and use that instead. I am surprised to hear about the children being caned. Have you told the teaching staff that we do not use that sort of punishment at home? I think you will probably just have to accept it is their way of discipling and not get too upset by it. What is Nomads? Is it a bar or a cafe? D you need anything sent over to help you at school? I will send an e.mail to you later today. Take care. Lots of love Mum xxxx
15th January 2010

nomads is a bar - priscilla is threatening to take me there tonigh and make me dance!!she followed that threat with - 'everyone watches the mzungus because you are the only ones there, and you glow under the lights as you have white skin"!!!!! that made me want to go...

Tot: 0.803s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb