I'll be leaving.......TOMORROW!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Africa
September 13th 2009
Published: September 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all Friends and Family.

Kamina Marie is asleep in the Snowpack on my back as I type this.

Got to remember to keep my weight evenly distributed over both feet.

Don't want very close veins.

Dear God, thank You for this beautiful day.

Thank you for the people who have taken the time to be with me.

Thank you for my WOMAN whom I Love so much.

Thank you for keeping me safe and healthy and strong.

Thank you especially for my nimble reflexes to be able to sidestep vehicles speeding at 50 mph within inches of baby and me with no regard whatsoever for human life.

Thank you for renewing my spirit and imploring me, like Joshua, to have good courage.

Thank you thank you thank you. What did I do to deserve these blessings?

Please continue to bless those I Love with all the blessings you can bestow upon them.

Please help baby and me to have a good night sleep so that I can be ready for the long journey ahead.

Thank you Lord.

Through Christ I pray, Amen.

Team, the flights might seem long, 9 hours to Belgium (what do they speak there, Belch?), and 8 hours to Chicago.

But that'll be nothing compared to yesterday's wait at the Immigration office.

Eventhough it seemed like a slam dunk, it wasn't.

I delivered the documents on Teusday, and they only arriveed at DGM on Friday at 4 pm.

Ah, Congo.

So, yesterday morning and afternoon they were busy working on my dossier.

At about 1 PM, I went outside to get bagettes and bananas f0or baby and me.

As I stood there, I noticeed a tall Congolaise man with a beautiful leather hat. (A Stetson?)

We made eye contact, he said "Hello," I answered "Hello," and thus began a beautiful friendship.

He said he was the Director. I said, "Wait a miute, THE Director? I'm needing your signature, where are you going?"

He said he wasn't THE Director of Immigration, but the Director of PAssports.

Close enough I figured.

I explained my situation to him and he was GENUINELY CONCERNED.

Eventhough he was headed for lunch, he listened as I PLeaded my case to him.

"Please Monsieur, I beg you, for this child, please help me."

I began walking back towards the buldg.

He told his friends to wait a minute, then motioned to me, "Come with me."

I stayed close behind him as we walked in the door, right past the potbellied guard who was unkind to me four hours earlier, up the stairs, down the hall and directly into the office where the Director of Immigration was located.

There were stacks of papers everywhere; which one is mine, I wondered.

One "admin assistant" was busy at the computer playing a video game of solitaire.

"Red 7 on the black 8" I told here. I don't think she understood.

I was then asked to wait outside which I did.

No more than 5 minutes later I was brought back into the room to sign the form stating I have recvd all docs. I signed.

The Director handed me my passport, the pasport for Ilunga Mwanza Regine aka Kamina Marie, and the sweet, beautiful, (en Francais) letter authorizing me to take her from the country. IT SHALL BE FRAMED.

I shook his hand and put it to my forehead, "God bless you, sir."

I packed everything neatly into the diaper bag, and padded out of there.

Outside I exchanged names and contact info the Stetson Director, hugged him several times and explained to him that his hat was sent by God.

I think he understood.

We walked to the store and I promptly avoided two vehicle versus human collisions; the vehicles sure didn't care to avoid me.

I called Rachel and for the first time she didn't answer. For the second time she didn't answer. I forgave her.

At the store, picked up diapers, wipes and Snickers bars.

We left there and waited for a taxi. Kamina and I sat in the dirt on the side of the highway and she played in the filfth of Kinshasa.

Broken bottles, used condoms, plastic bags, razor blades. You name, it's refuse on the street.

I took a photo of a trash can one day just because it was the first (and still the only) trash can I'd seen in two months.

So, finally we secured a taxi.

Oh yeah, my driver had showed up in the morning, late, and without the vehicle.

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Enough about that.

Now to secure a seat on the plane.

Have rcvd the itinerary from Harvey. Thanks Mrs A.

Can't wait to get over the USA and see the Sears Tower and taxi for 15 minutes at O'Hare International.

First, however, this morning I suggested to my driver to please make sure there's gas in the car for tomorrow.

Should I have also told him to BRING the car? Maybe so.

Ah Congo.

I will be shaking the dust off my snadles when I pack TOMORROW, that is for damn sure.

Well, gotta go.

Glad to hear the Steelers won in ot.

Please tell Mom I'll call her Wednesday.

Ah, that sounds gooooooooooooooood.

Peace and love to all.

I Love You Rachel. Over and out.





Advertisement



13th September 2009

YEAH KEITH!!!!!! I know the journey has been long and hard, but the blessings outweigh the struggles. There's no testimony with the test!!! I'm praying for traveling grace for you and Kamina!!! You are awesome!!
14th September 2009

hi
Wow!
14th September 2009

Happy for you beyond words!!!!!!
Hello My Brother, I am so happy for you that you have finally been "granted" whatever piece of paper you have needed and can hop on that plane tonight. I'll be praying every chance I get today that your driver brings that car, with gas, and on time! Praying for your safety, courage, and good reflexes until you're on U.S. soil tomorrow evening. Doesn't that sound wonderful, TOMORROW EVENING! I only wish I could be there to welcome you home. I will settle for air hugs and be happy just knowing you and Kamina are safe at last! Love you much, Cathy P.S. Talking with you the other day was awesome. You sounded great, even though it was an extremely stressful day, but then, you're used to those days by now, aren't you. Wishing you many, many less stressful days to come! God bless your journey home! :)
17th September 2009

hi
Congratulations new dad and mom! welcome home!

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb