First Week at Treasures of Africa


Advertisement
Africa
May 22nd 2007
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Caribou!

Hi All,

So I just finished my first week in Moshi, Tanzania and I truly couldn't have asked for a more amazing time so far. Obviously, I made it here safely and was retrieved from the airport in one piece :D Melissa set me up in a great boarding house, and it's even better than some of the hostels kelly and i stayed at in Europe! The actual orphanage is beautiful, I didn't know what to expect but it is definitely beyond what I had imagined.

We have 13 children so far, and every week we are scheduled to get more. I actually was able to come on a trip to a place called Chicorini, which is pretty far back in the bush, where we brought home a little girl named Magdalena. Her mom had died of cancer and her grandma was too old to care for her anymore. SHe was pretty shy at first, having only ever lived in a mud hut with her family, but she adjusted incredibly quickly and can't get enough hugs from all of the staff. We also were sent a one day old baby whose mom died during child birth. She is beautiful and such a good baby, I don't think I've heard her cry once.

This weekend we were able to go out into Masaii land (a local tribe that still lives in the bush and herds animals), and attend church out there. It was incredible and obviously got the anthropologist in me very excited. Although, my Swahili is pretty bad so all I could really say is welcome and thank you haha.

Otherwise during the days here, I get to play with the kids, and I have already started to teach them English, although its more difficult than I thought it would be considering I don't know Swahili, but I think both the kids and I teach each other alot everyday. We'll see how far I come by the time I leave!

I hope all is well at home and miss and love you all of you!

Tutaonana Baadye




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



22nd May 2007

So happy for you!
Hey Elizabeth! I couldn't be more touched to see that you are in Tanzania working at an orphanage. I've gotten to know East Africa and its diverse people over the last couple of years and I can appreciate what kind of life-changing experience this opportunity promises for you. Guess what? I'll be joining you soon! I'm leaving for Kenya in 3 weeks to stay for about 2.5 months. I'll be staying with a tribe called the Dassanach in Northern Kenya, working with a group to start a non-profit community development fund. I would start my own travel blog if I had access to internet! But in any case, I can't wait to hear more from you in the Fall. I wish you the best during your stay in Tanzania! I wish I could give those sweet kids a hug, too...maybe you can give them an extra squeeze for me!
22nd May 2007

Awesome!
What an adventure! Your photos are beautiful and your unfolding experience there sounds wonderful. Thank you for taking time to include us in your journey! Everything is good here and we're eagerly awaiting your next installment... Love and hugs - GM
22nd May 2007

amazing
Hey Beth! I loved looking at your pics and seeing your Journal.. I shared it with my kids in Oakland, and they loved seeing the pictures of the children there as well. I am so Jealous and am sure you are having a truly rewarding experience. Keep on Keepin On. P.S. My Instructional Assistant in my classroom just moved here from Kenya, if you need any tips on local excursions she would be happy to provide them! She loves the pics too!
22nd May 2007

Sounds amazing!
Wow it sounds like you are having a great experience. It's only been a week but I miss you already! Last Friday I got off work early and realized I didnt have anyone to call. But you are doing some much needed work there and Im so proud of you-seriously it is awesome. So do the other people working at the orphanage know Swahili and English? It doesnt sound like Swahili is easy to just pick up, but good luck! It was great to hear about your trip I love you and I miss you!
22nd May 2007

Sweetheart, I'm so happy to hear from you. You are experiencing just what you and I both hoped. I know that you are doing wonderful things for the children and Melissa. I hope the food situation is acceptable. You look happy and healthy. Love and prayers, Mom
22nd May 2007

Amazing
That is amazing Beth. I'm glad you are safe and doing well! Thanks for the update!
23rd May 2007

Hey Elizabeth, It's so good to hear that your trip is going well. I'm really excited for you. Keep up to date!
23rd May 2007

Frickin Amazing
Hey Beth, Wow....I am at a loss. Looks to be an amazing trip so far. Hanging out with Masaii playin with kids. I am quite jealous. Im glad that you seem to be having a good time, cant wait for the next group of pics Laters B
23rd May 2007

Hey beth, Wow, I didnt realize you had already left, but it sounds like what you've gotten yourself into is really really awesome. I was going to invite you to my Memorial Day party, but what your doing is a little more important. Don't buy tickets home. All the best.
23rd May 2007

Hooray for you!
Your note and pictures are breathtaking. Bless you during this wonderful experience. Would love to be there gathering up those little ones, too. Can't wait for your next excerpt. Take good care and know you are loved.
25th May 2007

you're amazing
Seeing this is so amazing to me. You are a true inspiration. Congrats and I will see you this summer, right? When are you planning on returning? Anyways, I look foirward to hearing more of your erxperience. Luv Hilary
30th May 2007

WOW
The kids are soooo cute what a wonderful thing you are doing! I am proud to know you! I will continue to read your blog as you update it can't wait to follow you though this growing experience. God Bless V

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb