Arrived Safely, Having some Fun


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia
May 19th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My trip to Zambia was fairly uneventful. It took forever and I had to send one night in Nairobi airport, but everything went as planned, nothing was seriously delayed, and I didn't miss any flights.

I've been staying in Lusaka for a couple days now at a backpackers hostel. It's pretty nice, and has allowed the group to take integration pretty easy. Starting today various members of the team are going to meet their new coworkers and new families, and by this weekend we'll be all over the place. I personally have the weekend off, since I'm waiting for someone to get into the country before I get handed over to my NGO. I'm going to travel north tomorrow morning to visit my old home where I lived in Zambia six years ago. It will probably be a bit eiry.

I am loving the markets, and the pace of life, and all the excitement. I am definatly still in the so called 'honeymoon' stage where I just love everything. I will be challenged much more once I move to western province and start spending time in the villages. I can't wait.

I'll try to post some pictures at some point... haven't really pulled out the camera just yet.

peace

Advertisement



21st May 2006

Acronisms
Dear Daniel: Your use of acronisms lends itself to confusion! We are pleased that you got to Zambia all in one piece and in time. We are really very interestered in your endeavours, however, please take care of yourself at all times, as there are risks lurking all over the place, this applying to Canuckland as well. Let us know where you will be working (what does the countyside ans environment look like; prairy, hills, jungle or whatever?) doing what (then I can find you in the Google map.) Can we look forward to your visit on the way back?? Let me know! We have had only so-so weather in June (it has rained a lot and today we had strong winds and zero Celsius). We spent a vey pleasant Mother's Day at uncle Oscar's place, managing to see all of the Ontarians. All the grands are quite good looking, however wee Rebecca appeared stunning and the tallest of the G-daughters (and by far). Good luck and farewell. A B U E L O

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb