Day 12 - Livingstone to Lusaka


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Lusaka
November 23rd 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Awoke to the sound of heavy fat raindrops trying to batter their way through the canvas. It seemed like the waterfron campsite was giving us one final memory (or kick in the teeth). I just decided to get wet and not bother with my moisture-retainer (rain coat). Pretty soon I was wringing wetand the campsite resembled the Zambezi. On the way to breakfast after taking down the tent, I passed over the bridge over the little stream running through the campsite. The little stream was now a raging torrent and was already well into the process of bursting its banks. I has a cup of tea but being so wet and cold I couldt eat anything. I tried to fibnd a way back to the truck, but both ways were flooded - one by about 5m of water, so I plumped for the bridge, where I had to wade through 6 ft of 4" deep water. Vast swathes of the campsite was underwater and the monkeys, surveying the situation from the trees, looked depressed. The day before they had been playful and grooming, but today they looked gloomy.

When I got back into the truck I changed into dry clothesm (bliss) and large socks and curled into a tight ball of warmth and dryness.

Today we drove about 520km to the Eureka campsite near Lusaka, the capital of Zambia,. I spent most of the journey asleep or reading. It rained on and off to most of the way but was dry for lunchtime on the roadside (with fresh watermelon).

We arrived at the campsite at 5.15pm and I spotted a giraffe, not 20m, probably not even 15m from the truck. It looked at us and was still for a while. Becky said it was a model until it flicked it's ear and tail and strolled over for a better look at us. It them wandered off gently tugging on passing leaves and swishing it's tail.

As I felt like I'd been in a washing machine for most of the day I decided to get a dorm roo0m, except that when I was shown to it, there were 3 guys in it (one in a state of undress), so I demurred and went back to canvas.

Delicious spag bol for dinner, which I quickly wolfed down a bowl of before retiring to bed at 7.30pm. I was warm and dry and didnt care. I contemplated home for a while and the thought of a nice bed befre dozing off into the night thankful that one of the most miserable days I'd had for a long time was over. At least we were 500km from the Waterfront Campsite!!!

Snuggly Sally
xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb