White Water Rafting


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
December 28th 2006
Published: December 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

To say I was apprehensive about this little escapade would be an understatement, but i went ahead and did half a day.
The section of the Zambezi we did was the first ten rapids starting from the Boiling Pot, just after the end of the waterfall section. We had a leader who was manic but I think very good.
There were six of us on the raft with Boyd at the rear, the one thing that we became very familiar with on the raft was teh rope around the side - the "Oh Shit!" rope. We were taught to paddle forwards, backwards, sit down and get up. Easy huh?
Well our raft was the first of five to get through the first rapid without capsizing, we took three attempts but felt very pleased with that. Should not have counted our chickens...
Mum's watch joined forces with dad's under the bridge - I threw it into the middle of the river from the raft. Rapid 2 was supposed to be easy, but no, over we went!! Our first introduction to clinging on for dear life, getting to one side of hte raft and then turning it over again before heaving ourselves in. The first time was frightening, the next few just exhausted us all.
For me this was my first introduction to the force of water, silly though it may sound I have managed to keep away from these kind of activiites and so have not been thrown around by a force that just strips everything off you that is loose and flings a human being around as if it were a leaf. Awesome!
The next few rapids we managed to get through without capsizing, other rafts did and were cheered on their way, sympathy does not seem to be too evident on these trips!! We were warned before the seventh rapid that this was the second big one of hte day, I obviouslt listened too well and did a spectacular Kermit like exit after the first part, sank down so low I could not see light water ahead and dashed ahead of the raft by about 20 m. I must learn to forget about being an independent person sometimes!! The firs thing to be seen was my paddle which I stuck up out of hte water, a little canoe came to pick me up and return me back to my raft. The others were quite upaset that I had beat them through the next stage of that rapid. I was just relieved to be alive - I think that's one of my nine lives well and truly spent. Not an experience I enjoyed, but it has made me appreciate water!
We finished walking around the grade 6 rapid - thank goodness, and then managed the tenth without a flip.
What a Christmas Day - one never to be forgotten by me!

Advertisement



28th December 2006

water rafting
thank goodness you wrote weve been holding our breath since xmas day glad to see you enjoyed yourself so much .i take we wont be going on a school trip white water rafting with you then well done mrs p from your best bod ryan
28th December 2006

Adrenaline Rules OK
That old saying - Your a better man than I.... comes readily to mind. All sounds exciting if a tad scary. Your exit from the raft sounds spectacular!! Pity is wasn't recorded, you could have sold on or two copies perhaps. Glad to hear that you did not rush back for more, that really would have been scary. Still you may get the chance to try bungie jumping later in the trip. Well done Lizzie - P!! You felt the fear but did it anyway. Love, John
28th December 2006

Pictures please?
So, now we need the evidence! Glad you "enjoyed" it, good on you, water and heights in one day - hope your children are proud of you!! (Not as much, I suspect, as you are of yourself!) Well done.
28th December 2006

water
I am glad you are alive and well! From your explanations, I don’t think I am in good enough shape for this sport.
28th December 2006

christmas day
Your Christmas certainly sounded wild, the most energetic thing I did all day was slide off the settee, clutching a drink. Very jealous; we think.
28th December 2006

White water
I was right to be worried about you! Phew what a graphic account.Well done indeed, I'd have bottled it .What a Christmas Day. xx
30th December 2006

I'll stick to the canals
There is no way on earth that you would get me doing that. I nearly drowned once and that is where it stops. However, good for you Liz. I'm impressed. That's a Christmas day to remember ! .....and I'm glad you survived to tell the tale.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb