Comparing Kampala


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region
January 28th 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Travels in East Africa


Inevitably, having flown from Addis Ababa to Kampala, I am making comparisons. The main differences seem to be things that are missing: Fewer beggars, fewer shoe shines, and definitely less hassle.

Kampala is a lovely place - small and compact. Finding my way around was helped, however, by the fact that Fiona and Steffen (friends I am staying with) gave me an orientation tour the day after I arrived. We visited the National Museum as part of the tour which was, as Steffen said in the comments book, 'interesting'. There is a mixed bag of exhibits and a small natural history section with animals missing from labelled diaramas. I loved it! There are few tourist sites in the capital, but just wandering around, especially in the market area is great fun. There is such a nice atmosphere and I admit I had to stop several times for a drink to recover from the heat.

Having managed to book a permit to go gorilla tracking later in my trip, my main priority while in Kampala, I took a mini bus taxi to Ggaba on the edge of Lake Victoria where there was plenty of Maribou Stork action around the fish stalls.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb