Final day in Kampala...


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
June 30th 2011
Published: June 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was the day of the exams, the students were soooo nervous and shaking like leaves in the wind but did so well and I couldnt be prouder, I was so impressed with them. Mikes voluteer casualties really put them through their paces as well, screaming, fainting and even convulsing at one point apparently. But the first aiders came through, they took care of all their casualties really well and passed with flying colours.

On return to the hotel I decided I needed to get my nails done before coming back, ok the last time I did that in Uganda I thought I was going to die and this time was no different, water all over the plug sockets - electric shocks was definately on the cards but I came out alive, with pretty nails. The nail lady was embarrassed to tell me that she was a not only a single mum but a teenage parent, she told me that she thought this only happened in Africa. I told her that teenage parents was common in the UK in fact that the kids always thought it couldnt happen on the first occassion and she laughed and said "yes that is exactly what I thought" her son is now 10 and she is finding getting a husband difficult because no one wants to take on another mans child but she loves her boy and would never give him back... she also complemented my strong calf muscles... all that cycling I say, Mike reckons they were just after a tip.

I was telling the nail lady about Baggy (the cat for those not in the know) she was shocked that we feed him and even more shocked that he sleeps on the end of the bed - cats are chief mousers here.

Returning to my room I got to my floor and the maid said " you do realise this is the 8th floor?" I wondered if they had been watching me step off at the wrong floor every day...

I recieved a message from Caroline, "Mo has sent a message, take pictures of art" I have taken some pictures - I hope they are what you want Mo...


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb